We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cafe was discusting and rude staff ..we will never eat there again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lee Valley Park Farms

Lee Valley Park Farms
Stubbins Hall Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 2EF, England
01992 892 781
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lee Valley Park Farms in Waltham Abbey, Essex are just the best kind of fun when it comes to a great value family day out.There are cuddly sheep, giant rabbits, rare breed pigs, long-necked llamas and a loveable meerkat family to meet.You can hit the heights on the giant bouncy pillow, scale the Spider Tower or whizz down the slopes on our fantastic toboggan run. The lttle ones love riding on the combine harvester in Piglet’s Paradise.Then take a short trip on a tractor trailer to our working dairy farm, where you’ll meet the cows and learn all about life on a real farm.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The cafe was discusting and rude staff ..we will never eat there again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hi I visited the cafe on Thursday 29th August and it was discusting.
All the tables were filthy when me and my little boy arrived and when I asked for someone to wipe down our table and highchair although they said yes as soon as they turned around I heard them mumble ffs!!

I ordered a cheese and tomato pannini and when it turned up it had tuna underneath!
My little boy had chicken goujons and chips which were overcooked and the chips were nearly cold which is ok for my son but they obviously weren't freshly cooked.

The staff were chatting when there were obviously things for them to do such as clear the tables and after watching them prepare food I soon realised that they dont wash their hands nor do they change chopping boards or ... are you ready. ... change the tongs which they use to put raw food in the fryer and also get the food out with !!
Now thats a major health risk and I have no idea how they have a 5 star hygiene rating on their door if this is how they practice.

Overall I found the cafe dirty, The staff rude and unhelpful and I would never eat there again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Park Farms, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. We pride ourselves on offering freshly made food using locally sourced quality ingredients and providing a friendly and professional service. We're concerned to hear of your experience on the day and we would like the opportunity to investigate this further. We would be grateful if you could contact us via farms@leevalleypark.org.uk or telephone 01992 892 781 in order to obtain further details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    1
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ibis Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Took my two boys here during the school holidays and we all had a great day. There is a great range of farm animals including pigs, horses, meercats, goats, critters and you can also see a real milking farm in action with a free ride on the tractor to the main farm. Loads of places to have a picnic with play areas and they have a giant bouncy pillow and doughnuts you can sledge down on. This was reasonably cheap to visit and not overcrowded and food in cafe was nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Park Farms, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We're extremely pleased that you and your sons had such a great time visiting us during the school holidays. We hope to see you again soon especially as we have some new additions to the farm - our Miniature Zebu, Chunk and Freida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited the farm today with my partner and 2 six year olds and 11 month old . We arrived really excited as we had read the previous reviews but I have to say I was left disappointed and children wanting to leave after an hour and half. It cost £31.00 for us to enter and £1.60 for a bag of feed. The farm has mainly goats and sheep and not very much else. The toboggan ride was very disappointing as the kids got stuck half way down and had to walk and drag the dinging the rest of the way as the grass was not wet enough due to the hose pipe not working. There is aplay area wich the kids preferred to stay in as they were bored seeing so many sheep and goats. The food was expensive and not very good at all. The best part was that TRopical inc were there today so the kids held a snake but they are not there all the time. So all in all not a good experience and I think overpriced !.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, General Manager at Lee Valley Park Farms, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, we're sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing trip to our farm recently.

In reference to the lack of variety of animals, whilst we do have a plenty of sheep and goats we also have meerkats, reindeer, llamas, Tamarin monkeys, Miniature Zebu cattle and more. You can find out our full range of animals on our website.

On the day you came to visit a full activity programme was running which included pig racing, tractor rides to the working dairy farm, meet the guinea pigs and more, we're sorry to hear that you missed these sessions as they provide great entertainment for the little ones! We can only apologise for the toboggan run as we were experiencing a few issues with it but hopefully we've addressed these.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the visit from Tropical Inc who came to visit us twice during the summer holidays as part of our weekly summer events programme.

Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking to improve. We hope that you might come back in the future so we can provide you with a much better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Been here twice now, food good, staff are friendly and animal as are happy. Can spend all day here if you want , picnic areas and play areas dotted around everywhere. Tractor ride is good too and you will see cows being milked. You do need to go on a nice day , cos lots of walking . We will def go back . Entry prices are cheap too

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a great day out! there is lots of animal stuff to do the staff are well knowleged on the animals and helpful, ANIMALS TO PET IN THE RIGHT PLACES LOTS OF AREAS TO WASH HANDS,There is a good food area and a good play and picknik area.
you should check out the tinterwebnet for the special days for pig racing animal hunts and competitions etc,Ther is a gang of Meerkats that are fun to watch as when they see an aircraft they gaze up at it as if to say "where is that going" there is a very large air filled soft play trampoline which is buried at ground level and very safe for all ages even BIG 50 yr old kids!! and a big spiders web climbing frame thingy,as a local we go there several times a year oh and we sometimes take the kiddies with us!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee Valley Park Farms also viewed

Waltham Cross, Greater London
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
Broxbourne, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Lee Valley Park Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lee Valley Park Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.