We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat to your Saves list
Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stock Road, Stock CM4 9BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

So here we are again back home from a fantastic overnight stay at this beautiful hotel!! Absolutely stunning completion of the lower ground floor and ground floor! Extremely festive and as usual fantastic, friendly, helpful staff! Food was divine! Cannot wait for my next stay! Happy Christmas to all at Greenwoods and best wishes for a successful 2015! See you soon!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    22
    21
    8
    17
See reviews for
18
37
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've visited the spa and restaurant over the last 12 years and always been disappointed. The staff have always been so young and inexperienced all round. However when the new owners took over recently there was a glimmer of hope with all round improvement and refurbishment. I've not tried the new chef and restaurant out yet but heard its lovely. I recently visited for Christmas drinks, with 8 other locals to the bar and lounge area. We felt rather than our usual haunts in Stock we'd give it a go. They obviously had a big party on in the marquee however the whole bar was full of dirty glasses and not an ice bucket in sight and just about glasses for us albeit mismatched. The service that we got was poor but at least the waitress had the hindsight to store our bottles in the fridge. It obviously never occurred to the manager to ensure the bar area was adequately manned as it was not as all eyes were on the marquee. We drunk up and moved down the road. Such a shame as the hotel is lovely.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

came here with my Best Friend for a relaxing day as it was recommended by my husband, I have been before and loved it and having been again with the new owners now in place its even better. The new spa was lovely, the staff were very Pleasant, the surroundings were classy and the Lunch was wonderful, the juice bar is a lovely idea as you can stay in your gowns whilst relaxing with a drink. Its also very clean and everytime we saw a member of staff we were asked if everything was ok and all with a smile. this was my friends first experience of Greenwoods and she was really impressed and already planning to bring her Mum here for mothers day. Thankyou Greenwoods and I cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

having in the past had a spa day at Greenwoods which included a very delicious lunch
I was really looking forward to afternoon tea treat we were given as a birthday gift. Our daughter-in-law asked if they could accommodate my sugar intolerance .No problem was the reply, they cope with diabetics all the time.When we arrived we were seated by the log fire in their lovely lounge. When I mentioned my sugar free diet the waitress said they could give me extra sandwiches and maybe a cheese scone. When our tea arrived the waiter apologised for not being prepared and gave me a fruit platter and cream ,no cheese scones were available apparently.The service wasn't particularly friendly, a smile would have been nice as would the offer a top up of the tea pot and a cake fork for my husband.All together a bit of a disappointment.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback regarding a recent visit to Greenwoods. We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with any aspect of your experience with us.
We have spoken to all the staff and management now in relation to your comments and would like to apologise for any oversight in communicating your dietary requirements between our staff.
Our back office teams are extremely busy at this time of year, with all of our Christmas arrangements, but we accept that this is not an excuse.
We do cater for a variety of requests and dietary needs for all of our menus and offerings and apologise that we did not meet this expectation during your visit.
In light of this we would be happy to offer you a return visit, to have your afternoon tea again with our compliments.
Please contact us directly to arrange on: 01277 829990, quoting the ref number: LH9HJ3. We will ensure you are well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was treated to an overnight stay with my boyfriend for my 20th. We also had a 20 min back massage, 3 course meal and breakfast included. Upon arrival the hotel looked very pretty and classy, and was much bigger than I expected. It is very nicely decorated and extremely clean inside. The room was fine, big and comfy bed..the shower was a bit old and not very good, but the rest of the hotel made up for it. Spa facilities were great, loved the sauna! The massage was really relaxing. And gym was much better than I was expecting, had quite a lot of equipment. Dinner was lovely and breakfast was nice, had choice of hot and/or cold. Overall had an amazing stay and would love to return!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Kelly,
Thank you very much for the positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed your treatments and spa experience too.
We have recently undergone a big renovation programme and are excited to now announce that this will be continuing in the new year, with the first phase of our bedroom refurbishment starting in January. We plan to renovate all of our bedrooms, in stages, and will include: redecorating, new bathrooms, new TV's and phone systems and brand new beds.
We do hope that you will come back and see the exciting changes for yourselves soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We all had a lovely time.
Spa I found to be clean and the loungers round the pool were very comfortable, we felt very relaxed after spending a few hours in there.
We had some lunch in the lounge and the staff really looked after us, even allowing us to have the table by the fire as one of our party wanted to watch the Grand Prix on the TV in the lounge.
It is very cozy in the lounge, christmas decorations look amazing, the new owners have done a great job in giving the place a fresher look but keeping with the lovely original features
We have already booked for afternoon tea and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback following a recent visit to Greenwoods. We are thrilled that so many of our guests have remarked on our beautiful new Christmas decorations this year- to tie in with all the renovations and improvements we have made in the past 8 months.
Great to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere both in the newly refurbished spa as well our lovely lounge. Our staff work hard to ensure that our guests all enjoy their experiences with us and are always happy to accommodate any requests.
Our afternoon tea menu and service has proved very popular with our customers and we have introduced a festive element this month which we would highly recommend.
We are pleased that you will be joining us again soon- we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we went to Greenwoods hotel for afternoon tea and Jazz with a few friends and had a lovely afternoon .
the ambience in the lounge was warm & inviting with the log fire ablaze and the Christmas tree glittering .
the music was exceptional the lady vocalist sung a mixture of American ballads and Latino love songs backed by a very talented Sax player ,it was difficult to know whether to talk to our friends or give the music the attention it deserved .
Delicious sandwiches ,cakes and scones were served up and washed down with a cup or two of nice tea.
all in all a fabulous time was had and our only regret was that we had to go home !

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Chris,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Greenwoods. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Christmas jazz afternoon- we always get great feedback from these afternoons and they are now one of our most popular events throughout the year.
We have already planned some dates for 2015- so be sure to book early if you want to guarantee another spot.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat

Address: Stock Road, Stock CM4 9BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwoods Estate Spa And Retreat Hotel Stock
Greenwoods Estate Hotel And Retreat
Greenwoods Estate Stock
Greenwoods Estate Spa And Retreat Stock, Essex, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.