We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old in name and everything else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Kings Head

The Old Kings Head
Stock Road | Nr Billericay, Stock CM4 9PQ, England
+44 1277 841817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 Restaurants in Stock
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Queen's Barn Restaurant at The Old Kings Head offers a traditional English menu with a variety of continental 'specials'. Please let us know if you have any specific dietary requirements as our chef is happy to adapt our dishes accordingly.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Old in name and everything else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I expect rustic and good pub food but it seems its attack of the Microwave with most dishes, it used to be good but lacks any attention to detail.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    7
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great pub, with nice food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have been to this pub on many occations, with family and with friends. It is a good pub that apparently has been there for approx 400 years (no doubt something's have changed over the years). There are two bars and a restaurant area.
One bar is a small 'Public Bar' with a dart board. The other bar is a 'Saloon Bar', and has tables allowing you to enjoy a meal there. The locals in both bars are friendly, as are the staff, who work hard to attend to you. There are no fruit machines in either bar, so there is not that annoying racket in the background.
The pub serves quality beers, and effort seems to be applied to ensure the beers are well kept. A good selection of wines is available, but it is a pub so don't expect anything like a vintage at £100 a bottle.
The restaurant menu and bar menu both offer a good selection and good value for money. The steaks here are very good. They also provide a low calorie menu, but I have not tried food from this, so cannot comment. You can book in advance, which is a good idea at weekends. They have a 'Curry Night' (on a Wednesday, I think) which is great value at about £5.95, and the food tastes great!
This is a pub that is making a real effort in the face of the difficulties in the pub trade. I hope it pays off and the pub is here in another 400 years.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thai curry for astonishing value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Essentially a pub (with some very good ales, like Timothy Taylor) but a great place to stop for a beer and a curry if you don't want to cook when you get home. You'll (just) get change from a tenner each so it's not an expensive night out. Check out the open mike evenings and the occasional drama of a touring ad hoc show once a month.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Nice pint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Very helpful staff willing to help with all your needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickford
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The first time we visited this pub was November 2011, one quiet early evening when the restaurant was almost empty. The pub is warm and welcoming and the staff very attentive. We had a delicious meal that we couldn't fault, the prices are reasonable and the pub feels 'homely'.

However, the next time we visited was for Sunday lunch with friends we were very disappointed. Not wanting any of the meat on offer the waitress kindly said the chef would cook two of us a chicken breast. When the meal arrived my friend tasted her chicken and immediately thought there was something wrong with it, I thought mine tasted ok but it was nothing special and not a patch on the meal we had previously. I asked the waitress if the dish could be changed for something else and it was, willingly, with apologies and no fuss. It's a shame that this tainted our experience which we didn't particularly enjoy.

Another 'however' coming........we had already pre-booked for a 'slice of fawlty towers' Christmas meal together with another four friends. I was really apprehensive about the night, not knowing either what to expect from the theatre company or the quality of food. To my great relief my doubts were unfounded. The show starts in the bar area where Sybil and Basil mingle with the guests chatting and involving you as much or as little as you like. When you move into the restaurant the show continues with the cast including Manuel serving your food whilst in dialogue amongst each other and the guests. (Unfortunately, one of the guests were taken ill during the 'show' which must have made it very difficult for the cast to continue with their performance but they did so with true professionalism). I do hope the ill guest has recovered.

The food on this occasion, (a Christmas dinner) was tasty and plentiful and cooked just right. The regular staff were as usual helpful, welcoming and eager to do their best to ensure their guests enjoyed the evening. We had a lovely time, quite different to the normal 'going out for a meal' night.

We will return although probably not for a Sunday lunch

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Kings Head also viewed

 

Been to The Old Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.