We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and service, but prices too high for what was offered” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pietros Italian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pietros Italian Restaurant
20 The Square | Stock, Stock CM4 9LH, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 restaurants in Stock
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good Food and service, but prices too high for what was offered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our first visit for a number of years since our previous visit was not good, but we tried it again because we had such good reports from friends who make repeated visits.
It didn't start well in that we arrived at the appointed time of our reservation to find the front desk deserted and after a few minutes when I walked further into the restaurant, a waiter was talking to another customer and remained completely oblivious to us. We only attracted his attention by returning to the front desk and pressing the intercom button on the telephone!
However, he was all smiles and apologised for the delay and immediately took us to our table, and gave us our menus. There is a fixed price dinner menu Tuesday to Thursday but the selection is not large and we couldn't all find something we liked, so we went for the a la carte choices. We had a mixture of fish dishes, and venison and steak, and all were very good. Probably not the best in the area, but certainly better than most. There is a wine list but it is quite small and not inexpensive, with 3-4 wines in red and white by the glass. We each ended the meal with a dessert or ice cream, which were good but not outstanding. Service was attentive and efficient and we didn't have to wait long between courses.
Overall, after the slip at the beginning, good service and good food. It's just that we've found better value restaurants serving better food elsewhere in the area. I'd go again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    26
    8
    5
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex Englalnd
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very pleasant lunchtime experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Visiting Pietros today with friends proved to be a very good decision. The food was exellent and the staff were very pleasant and friendly nothing was to much trouble for them. There was no attempt to rush us and we enjoyed a very relaxing lunch.

Good value for money and very nice presentation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having been to Church in Stock where my wife worshipped as a child we were pleased to find Pietro's in The Square where we could have our Sunday lunch. The menu was varied and reasonably priced, the front of house welcome was good and our waitress was friendly and efficient. We both started with soup which was piping hot and very tasty. I then had a chicken with pasta and my wife had rabbit with vegetables. My chicken was disappointingly a little overcooked and on the dry side and the pasta was a little too spicy for my taste though I am perhaps being a little over critical; my wife's rabbit however was excellent - beautifully cooked, succulent and well presented. I was driving so had tonic water though my wife had a large glass of wine. We both had coffee. The total bill was only £55 and I think represented good value for money.
Next time we visit Stock I will certainly use this restaurant again and I can recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice after work dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have not been here for a few years as I work in Ingatestone but rarely have a lunch break and when not at work I would not choose to return to where I work.
There were 4 of us that dined for dinner and we all had fantastic food.
The staff are very welcoming.
Would recommend

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A new find for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited the Resurant for the first time in May this year and again with frinds in early June. On both visits we found the place to have a high standard of food as well as good informed service.
The Avocado with crab was an excellent starter and we had it on both our visits. The Skate was excellent on our first visit along with the Lamb on our second, never have a dessert. Its not a cheap place to eat but the food and service as well as the venue are of a high standard. The restaurant divides in two, we found that larger parties are in the rear area so we preferred the front which contains where the drinks and desserts are prepared, and we felt was a bit quieter. The service was good and unobtrusive with the food being well presented and of a good quality, We canot comment on the wine as we do not drink it. Parking can be difficult, as there is also a Pub opposite that also has a restaurant. Fully recommend the place if you put quality first. Of couse a good everning also needs good company.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pietros Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pietros Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pietros Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.