We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Thai

Tara Thai
104 Hamlet Court Road | Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7LP, England
01702391171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 473 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Price range: $0 - $62
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
essex. uk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“fab thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

visited early on a saturday evening on a groupon deal. i love thai food but my wife is not so keen.
we both said this was excellent and as good as many restaurants we have visited in asia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    26
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Splendid Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arrived to a nice friendly greeting.

Ordered the food of which the starter arrived in about 15 minutes. The main arrived shortly after. The food was very nice, scrumptious in fact. Hot, on hot plates. Unusually, contrary to past experience elsewhere, there was sufficient food to fill the plate. The restaurant was not noisy and was well lit.

verall, a nice evening. Food for two plus a bottle of wine and half a bottle of champagne, plus a cake, £90.00.

Very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A special dinner setting with great Thai hospitality and quality. this restaurant matches the best that Bangkok can offer and in the heart of little old Westcliff. Discover exotic Thai cuisine at its best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pricey Average Food, Slow Service, Nice Decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We came to Tara Thai on a weekday evening and the restaurant was quite full. Understandably, the service might be slower, however, we had to wait for around 30 minutes for them to bring us the menus! I feel that they were understaffed because it was hard for us to get the waitress' attention. When the food did arrive the portion sizes were relatively small for the price we paid. Some things were quite salty and others were too spicy.

I recommend Manoly's in Leigh instead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Thai restaraunt in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having eaten at various thai restaraunts over the years in various countries, this is one of the best. The food is good, not excellent, but the service and friendly staff really make up for it. I would defintely recommend this as a great place to go for a night out for a romantic evening, with the better half or even when you are fed up with having a curry etc. Its a tad on the pricey side but you are paying for the decor and service as well, so I dont begrudge it at all. Where it really stands out is the food isnt too greasy! The other restaraunt I went to wasn't a patch on this one. A definite goer!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Thai also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Tara Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.