We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raised their game for a great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camelia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Camelia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Camelia Hotel
176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Special
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Raised their game for a great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have stayed here many times and it just keeps improving. The staff are extremely friendly, the service is great and the food in the restaurant more than acceptable. As I said in my previous review, the rooms we stay in at £120 per night are poor value, but we have since opted for the doubles at around £80 and these represent a much better deal. The hotel is clean and it has fantastic sea views to top it off. Parking is also available at the rear of the hotel which is a real bonus in this part of town. A very comfortable stay. Thank you Camelia!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    48
    26
    12
    6
See reviews for
24
92
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here on business having stayed here on many occasions before. On arrival we were given great sea front rooms with fabulous rooms, the rooms themselves were immaculate, clean fresh and very warm and comfortable. The staff were very friendly, accommodating and knowledgable, and although the bar is small it is very comfortable, and the restaurant was great with well prepared fresh food. All in all a very comfortable hotel for business, a lovely seafront location and welcoming staff, i will come back when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have recently had 11 professional business associates stay at this Hotel, and I have heard nothing but praises, from the courtesy of the staff; to the cleaniliness of the rooms; to the neat decor; heart warming breakfasts amongst other things. In my line of profession, I scour many hotels near airports to accomodate business professionals, and I have to say if you are an individual; a couple; a family, looking to stay in a hotel, either for leisure on the Southend Seafront, or for business purposes, or merely just for a stay over in order to take a trip from the local airport, I would definately without a doubt recommend this hotel, a special praise goes to a member of staff by the name of Jenny Hall, who was impeccable to say the least. Its one thing to stay in a hotel, and its another for a members of staff to go out of their way to make you comfortable. If this hotel was on Park Lane, it would be a sellout all year long (Surely 11 people can't be wrong)

Room Tip: Ask jenny !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on a business trip and found welcoming staff and efficient. The only disappointment was that the wi-fi didn't work as I chose the hotel on that basis. They tried to help but the signal was too weak to be of any use.

Dinner was OK and the breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful.
The room was a bit on the small side but adequate and was clean and comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here with my partner. Was very clean here. The bedroom had all the right facilities and the bathroom was spotless. Most places loose standards at peak times so i was pleased with the turn out. With the hotel being so close to the main attraction it was very handy. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. I will definitely be returning here!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband recently celebrated his 70th birthday at the Camelia Hotel and we couldn't be more happy at the success of the party. The room was just the right size and beautifully laid out. We had decided to have a cold buffet with salmon and cold meats, all of which were delicious and accompanied by fresh salads. All our guests remarked on the food and most came back for seconds. The staff were really helpful and attentive, though not over the top. I would certainly recommend this hotel. Thank you for making my husband's birthday memorable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed just the one night on business. The welcome at reception by the young gentleman could not have been better, helpful, polite, informative and professional. Did not eat evening meal so cannot comment on restaurant. Breakfast was fine if a little basic, the buffet had no fresh fruit but perhaps due to low occupancy and time of year. We booked an executive double room and it was in honesty a little disappointing. It lacked character and the mattress was very uncomfortable. Some things seemed a little penny pinching eg only one packet of biscuits and only one hot chocolate and also only one hand towel. The bathroom was good and newly fitted and very clean but the shower lacked pressure and went cold half way through a shower. In summary did what it said on the tin but nothing more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend On Sea
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.