We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Southend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Southend to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Southend
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Stay ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We arrived late as we have an early flight next morning it was a very pleasant stay the Southend airport is very close so we decided I stay there overnight as the airport is closed after 12
The room was big and very clean I'm very fussy with toilet but this one was nice and clean
The service was really good it has a nice view as well so we had a really good night
We highly recommended :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate the 5 star rating. Thank you for sharing the comments about your room and how clean it was and the good service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    122
    46
    20
    12
See reviews for
76
114
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Ci
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Good points were that the hotel is ideally situated for airport and railway station although would end up getting soaked if rained.
Check in staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful
Was good value for money.

Rooms were however somewhat soulless but were functional and had everything we needed including a period of free wi-fi.
Would avoid room service - expensive and took a long time considering hotel looked comparatively empty. Portion of chips was extremely small and club sandwich was almost cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review from your recent stay. We were delighted with your comment regarding the staff being friendly and helpful. I am sorry to learn you thought the rooms were soulless and that the room service portion of chips was small with the club sandwich almost cold.
I do hope that this experience would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I will have to split this review into two, part one for the hotel and the second part for the restaurant.

The hotel itself was generally good. A friendly front desk receptionist upon checkin (though the night manager was rather grumpy!), a very comfy bed and a nice spacious room. There was a leak in the bathroom that we had to mop up, but that was no more than a mild inconvenience.

The restaurant let the hotel down badly. Average food at expensive prices, and friendly but poor service. Items were forgotten, but more importantly there was a serious wait for drinks and mains. I never normally mind a bit of a wait, but it got to the point that we had to chase for our drinks twice before they appeared.
I personally had the Sirloin Steak which I was underwhelmed with and the prawn starter was one of the worst I've had in a long time. Absolutely no flavour whatsoever with greasy batter. It feels like they're trying too hard in order to justify the price tag, and letting basic standards slip in doing so.
I've certainly had much better food for far less money before.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are delighted you thought the rooms were spacious and had comfy beds. We are sorry to learn that you thought the restaurant let the hotel down. We have a new head chef who started in August and new menus from October and almost all comment have been very positive recently. Mickey the head chef appreciates the feedback and will monitor the quality of the prawns and steaks. Our steaks are purchased from a local supplier and matured longer than most large chain suppliers and usually receive positive comments. I apologise for the wait and having to ask about drink service - you should never have to ask twice.

I do hope that you do try 1935 Rooftop Restaurant and Bar should you stay again in the future, so we might change your mind about our standard of food and service.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashby de la zouch
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is very modern and sylish, visually pleasant the executive room is 5 star this was my second stay and as before the food let it down, £14.00 for a pre-cooked breakfast which was barely warm and cold by the time I finished, bacon like cardboard and £5.00 to park the car overnight is not what I expect from a Holiday Inn
The staff were great, helpful and curtious, would stay again but eat out

Room Tip: The fourth floor overlooking the Airport [even room numbers]
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for leaving comments regarding your recent stay. Thank you for the great feedback regarding our executive room and that you think it is 5 star. I am disappointed to learn that you were not happy with breakfast. We have worked hard over the last 3 months to improve this service and recently have had many positive comments on breakfast. I am sorry that your breakfast was cold by the time you had finished and we will work on our consistency.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my company for a Christmas party and was extremely pleasantly surprised by the excellent staff knowledge. When I first approached the bar a member of your team, Sam Carter, gave advice and showed clear knowledge of the alcohol selection, and even let my partner taste the beer before he then purchased a pint. Later in the evening he have extra help with the decision making on the wine, as well as chatting along the way giving helpful tips. He demonstrated customer service above and beyond. All staff that evening were appropriately friendly, and the reception staff have help on finding a cash point with great directions. Would definitely advise to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review regarding your recent Christmas party. We are delighted that you found our staff to be very helpful, knowledgeable and service that was above and beyond. Thank you for your 5 star rating. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife, toddler son and I stayed on a Friday night. The hotel is very new and clean, and situated right next to Southend airport, overlooking the runway, Despite this proximity, you can't hear the slightest aircraft sound, so don't worry about being disturbed. The room itself was very clean, nice bed, flat screen TV, nice bathroom with shower and bath. The restaurant, however, while it served excellent food, was a let down, because of the service. When we arrived we weren't acknowledged for a couple of minutes, as the staff members right in front of us were arguing over some issue with the till. They then did apologise, told us they'd be right with us, then left us standing there for another couple of minutes. When we asked for a seat near the window in the pretty much empty restaurant, we were told we were being seated elsewhere - no reason given. Fine, I'll take that out of your tip, then. Food was excellent, but we did ask that the bread and oils be delivered at the same time as the main courses. "It usually comes out a bit quicker" we were told. Well, how hard can it be to schedule it to come out when I actually ask instead?
Apart from that, we did have a good visit. Got a great night's sleep in the room, the breakfast buffet next morning was delicious for a change - usually in these sorts of places it's lukewarm and tasteless, but this time the hot food was actually hot, and the sausages tasted like they had real meat in them, instead of the unmentionable substances you usually get. Staff at check-out were very helpful, recommending things to see in Southend, and where to park. I'd stay again if in the area, but might go out to a restaurant that knows how to serve customers instead of eating here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted you thought the food excellent and you had a great nights sleep. I apologise for the delay in seating and receiving your bread basket.

I am sorry that you were not given an explanation of why you were not seated in the window despite the restaurant being nearly empty. The tables in the window are usually reserved by diners well in advance and kept free for bookings due in later on that evening.

We really appreciate your kind comments about our breakfast and the helpful staff. We hope you visit again in the future

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel is bright, clean and has a good breakfast room and bar. The room we stayed in was an executive one, which was a reasonable size and a good view of the airport through the soundproof glass. The breakfast buffet was excellent.HOWEVER this all counts for nothing when they can't deliver on the absolute basics. I booked a twin room for myself and my teenage daughter well in advance. On arrival I was greeted with the news that there were no twin rooms available. All gone. I was obviously not happy, this was compounded by the fact that they had no 'put me ups' left either. I was offered an upgrade to an executive double room, which was fine for my daughter, but not much use for me as sleeping on the floor of an executive room is probably much the same as sleeping on a standard room floor. Apart from the fact that their computer booking or in-house system isn't good enough to allow them to over book twin rooms, I am very disappointed with their customer service. The only action that they have take since is to remove my review from their own website. No sign of an apology. Still they've had my money so that's fine I suppose. Except I shan't be staying in a Holiday Inn again any time soon. Pity because it was actually quite a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave feedback from your stay in November. I would like to apologise for the overbooking of twin rooms on this occasion. We would as a matter of policy overbook due to the volumes of cancellations and no shows that we receive, unfortunately on this occasion all rooms did show and we were not able to fulfil our obligation. We will be in touch shortly to resolve your complaint.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southend 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Southend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.