We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once bitten twice shy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Keralam South India Restaurant

Keralam South India Restaurant
28 Clifftown Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1AJ, England
01702 346054
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 494 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
uk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Once bitten twice shy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Visited here a few times over the years and enjoyed, however noticed numbers dwindling lately.
The reason for this could be similar experiences to the upset stomach Ive had for a few days since my latest visit!
I'm a regular eater of hot and spicy food and unfortunately I'm quite certain it was the meal from the Keralam that was responsible for my illness. In
My sister tells me she has also heard off others complaining of similar experiences!!
Some people believe 'Delhi belly' to be part of the Asian dinning experience, I'm afraid I do not and won't be taking my chances with the Kerelam again! :( Disapointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    15
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A genuine taste of Kerala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The food here is so good that it inspired us to take a trip to Kerala! You will not be disappointed. The traditional dishes - fish curry, masala dosa etc - are extremely good and the service has always been fantastic - recommending the perfect mix of rice/side orders to compliment the main dishes. We first visited here a few years ago and continue to visit and recommend to all our friends. Absolutely 5/5.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Keralam simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This food is unsurpassed and truly delicious. Once you have eaten at this restaurant you will never go back to Bangladashi /Westernised curry. This food is freshly made and the flavours are fantastic. We went with our whole family including young children whole loved the Butter Chicken. The service is fantastic, knowledgeable and everything recommended lived up to its description. A wonderful and authentic Indian meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Try the differents, South indian restaurant"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you love Indian food but want something different from the usual then this restaurant is fabulous. The main highlight was the homemade chutneys served with pappadoms which is really unusual from other Indian restaurants. The staff was so helpful and well knowledge about the dishes served. The main dishes recommended was butter chicken and Beef Dry fry which was tasting fantastic. They were also served with freshly prepared special kerala paratha. We will be back soon and recommend other friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A true authentic taste of indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Gave this place a shot as a recommendation from a friend. So booked a table for 8, and I must say, the food was beyond our expectation. Different to the usual Indian cuisine which I've tried out. The staffs are very friendly and welcoming. We had great suggestions of dishes from the owner himself, which made it easy for us to choose from the variety of dishes available.

There is a long wait for the food, but don't get put off by this. The food is cooked to order, so the wait was worth it. For starters we ordered; Squid fried, Jeera chicken, King Prawn Poori and cashew nut pakora.
For the main course, we tried out; Chilli Lamb, Butter Chicken, Fish Masala, Duck Masala, Chilli Paneer, Tomato Curry, Jeera Rice, Vellayappam and Malabar Poratta, and can't forget the homemade pickles - simply awesome.

We would certainly return again, and would definitely recommend this place to those who enjoy freshly cooked food with full of spices and flavour. Outstanding food and a great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keralam South India Restaurant also viewed

 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Keralam South India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keralam South India Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.