We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night ( and morning...) at Park Inn.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea to your Saves list
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Lucca, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One night ( and morning...) at Park Inn.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Arrived in the afternoon before the 10cc concert... :-) beautiful room, huge, lovely shower and services, great breakfast, parking place just in front of the Hotel, nothing looked wrong...until, as I had to make a phone call in UK and didn' t want to use again my italian mobile, I had the bad idea of dialling from the room: 30 seconds ( REPEAT: THIRTY seconds ) for asking another phone number and address, not joking, they charged 5.50 POUNDS...that' s how a 4 stars rate can go to 3. Thanks anyway, the bacon & eggs were lovely...not so much the crew.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    214
    105
    35
    22
See reviews for
95
207
22
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We took advantage of their winter sale and got a non-seaview room on the 2nd floor for £44/night. The room was lovely and the seaside location was superb.

Our room faced the shopping centre's unpleasant carpark behind the hotel. Many reviewers here seem to have received upgrades but we weren't expecting one at the rate we paid.

We stayed in January when the theme park at the front of the hotel was closed. We walked along the promenade from Southend to Old Leigh and back - a very pleasant walk. There's a lovely seafood stand in Old Leigh if you fancy the walk.

Noise: On the east side (ie. left if looking towards sea) of the hotel is Lucy Road which is full of nightclubs. We couldn't hear these clubs from our room but were woken several times by clubbers arriving/returning to theirs cars and playing loud music on sub woofer stereos. This obviously isn't the hotel's fault but is a disadvantage of the back facing rooms on weekends.

The other noise issue was the cleaner who on both mornings left a mobile phone playing music at full volume on their trolley in the corridor in the hallway whilst cleaning rooms. After a night of being woken by car stereos, it was very annoying to be woken by this - couldn't get back to sleep after that. Hopefully the hotel can invest in some earphones for their cleaners.

Breakfast was good except for the bacon which tasted like it'd been there too long or reused. The view from the restaurant is lovely and they have newspapers to read.

Staff were okay - the one who checked us in was a bit awkward. Rather than being welcoming he was more concerned with making it very clear that we wouldn't get a refund if we left early because we were on a sale rate. This is made very clear on their website when booking and it felt a bit like we were being treated as cheapskates. It also made us wonder whether they have a problem with people being dissatisfied and wanting to leave early. But after that experience all the staff were friendly and helpful.

The only other very minor issue for me was that they only supply liquid soap and shower gel. I prefer a bar of soap to wash my face and hands.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thonon-les-Bains, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We (a family of 4) stayed in one of the spacious family room with a convertible sofa for the kids and a large king size bed. The room was overlooking the sea: fantastic and thanks to reception offer (no extra charge). However, when it comes to windows failure, there we go! The windows were very drafty as the wind started suddenly at night. The en suite bathroom somewhat minuscule and rather annoyed with this excessive security matters: in the corridor all doors from floor to floor are locked and request room-key usage! Do you fear anything?
The breakfast buffet was NOT to the standard of such a quality hotel. The service overall was quite poor.
I feel like with a little bit more effort the hotel would become better. However lovely location, main city pedestrian road for shopper on an easy access and the airport at only 6 mns walk to the train station and 6 mns train from Victoria station to the airport one.
To be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in December as my employer held their staff Christmas function at this hotel.

Our room was magnificent, on the 5th floor with a great view of the Essex/Kent coastlines. The room was of a very good size and was spotlessly clean.

We elected to have breakfast at the Hotel and were not disappointed. There was a very good selection of both hot and cold items and it was a self service buffet, which I always prefer, with tea and coffee being supplied by the waiting staff on request. The restaurant itself also has splendid views of the Costa Essex.

The only downside is the parking situation,which altho' you get a deal for the period 17.00 to 09.00 being "only" £5, any time over this costs at least £1 an hour.

Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Sea Views are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Martin S

Thankyou for taking time to send through such a wonderful review, my team will really appreciate your feedback, I do understand your comment regarding parking, we continue to do all we can to address this situation and try to make it as cost effective as we can for our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace at some time in the future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Hotel is located in a lovely location.
The car park opposite is £15.00 for over 8 hours stay.
The staff on reception were all lovely.
The view from our hotel was nice even on a rainy day.
The hotel room wasnt spotlessly clean, but was liveable.
Would stay here again :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Jo Anne L

Thank you for your feedback I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay at the Palace, dissapointed that your room was not up to standard, I have looked in to our records to establish room number, this has been addressed with my housekeeping department, apologies for this it certainly is not the norm

I do hope we see you again at the Palace

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here few days before xmas, got a cheap offer, as it is usually quite dear, and we were a bit sceptical. It was lovely, rooms were spacious, staff very pleasant. Location to town centre a few seconds walk, down side was parking, £15 per day! We had a problem with our shower, it was too HOT to get into, so they upgraded our room for the second night, as they couldnt fix it immediately. Didnt eat there, went into town, but very nice hotel, just expensive, compared to others in the area, unless you get a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Terrie007

Thank you for taking time to send through your feedback, I do appreciate your comment regarding room rates and yes they are based on demand so there are times when rates are more competively priced. we are very concious during these times to make sure we offer value for money and we are currently running a number of promotions, bookable in January, for this year to enable all guest to enjoy an affordable break at the Palace

I do hope we see you again and please look out for our January sales

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Although it is a chain hotel, the service was great. Our room was very spacious and very reasonably priced. The buffet breakfast was really good quality and the view from the restaurant was spectacular.
Previously we had stayed in a boutique B&b across the road, but The Park Inn wins hands down on space and value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear peacockeye

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a positive honest review your comments will be welcomed by my team and I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us!

I look forward to weloming you back to the Palace Hotel

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Address: Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.