We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea to your Saves list
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in December as my employer held their staff Christmas function at this hotel.

Our room was magnificent, on the 5th floor with a great view of the Essex/Kent coastlines. The room was of a very good size and was spotlessly clean.

We elected to have breakfast at the Hotel and were not disappointed. There was a very good selection of both hot and cold items and it was a self service buffet, which I always prefer, with tea and coffee being supplied by the waiting staff on request. The restaurant itself also has splendid views of the Costa Essex.

The only downside is the parking situation,which altho' you get a deal for the period 17.00 to 09.00 being "only" £5, any time over this costs at least £1 an hour.

Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Sea Views are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Martin S

Thankyou for taking time to send through such a wonderful review, my team will really appreciate your feedback, I do understand your comment regarding parking, we continue to do all we can to address this situation and try to make it as cost effective as we can for our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace at some time in the future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    215
    105
    35
    22
See reviews for
95
208
22
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Hotel is located in a lovely location.
The car park opposite is £15.00 for over 8 hours stay.
The staff on reception were all lovely.
The view from our hotel was nice even on a rainy day.
The hotel room wasnt spotlessly clean, but was liveable.
Would stay here again :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Jo Anne L

Thank you for your feedback I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay at the Palace, dissapointed that your room was not up to standard, I have looked in to our records to establish room number, this has been addressed with my housekeeping department, apologies for this it certainly is not the norm

I do hope we see you again at the Palace

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here few days before xmas, got a cheap offer, as it is usually quite dear, and we were a bit sceptical. It was lovely, rooms were spacious, staff very pleasant. Location to town centre a few seconds walk, down side was parking, £15 per day! We had a problem with our shower, it was too HOT to get into, so they upgraded our room for the second night, as they couldnt fix it immediately. Didnt eat there, went into town, but very nice hotel, just expensive, compared to others in the area, unless you get a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Terrie007

Thank you for taking time to send through your feedback, I do appreciate your comment regarding room rates and yes they are based on demand so there are times when rates are more competively priced. we are very concious during these times to make sure we offer value for money and we are currently running a number of promotions, bookable in January, for this year to enable all guest to enjoy an affordable break at the Palace

I do hope we see you again and please look out for our January sales

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Although it is a chain hotel, the service was great. Our room was very spacious and very reasonably priced. The buffet breakfast was really good quality and the view from the restaurant was spectacular.
Previously we had stayed in a boutique B&b across the road, but The Park Inn wins hands down on space and value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear peacockeye

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a positive honest review your comments will be welcomed by my team and I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us!

I look forward to weloming you back to the Palace Hotel

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here at the end of November 2012 for 3 nights, got a good deal so no complaints about value for money, it's a decent hotel with friendly staff, the room was huge (no. 101) and that made it a bit cold, it did have air-con but we are not fans of air-con while asleep so we phoned down for extra blankets which appeared within a minute or 2 so that kept us warm, the room & bathroom were clean & tidy and cleaned at least twice during our stay, they also loaned us an iron and ironing board. The view from the room was excellent, overlooked the famous Pier. The bar was worth a visit, had a couple of beers in there, my only complaint about the bar was it only sold premium beers like Stella & Becks which tend to be a bit stronger than your average beer like Fosters for instance, but the staff were friendly and quick with the service.
On the whole I'd say I would have no worries about staying here again and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.
The best way to get to the hotel from Southend airport was by taxi and cost just over £10, you can get the train from the airport to Southend Victoria but then you have a bit of a walk to the hotel, we used the train when returning to the airport coz we were in no rush and did some shopping, the train cost was about 4 quid each one way.

Room Tip: ask for a Pier view, it really is a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear DJBirch

Thank you for your feedback, we will be reviewing our beverage offering in the lounge and have taken your comments on board

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope we see you again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on November 25th (Sunday) as we had business in the area early on the Monday. It cost £98 sea view B&B booked direct with the hotel website. We could have had it for £61 room only but wanted a sea view etc and breakfast.

Location
Good - close to all amenities and seafront rooms command a lovely view (even with the fairground). Not well signposted and because of the roadwork being done a nightmare to find
Parking
None at the hotel - multi storey opposite but as stated in another review very expensive outside dusk till dawn. There is roadside parking on pay and display nearby which we used and is free overnight (read the sign)
Service
Pleasant colleagues, although no real pzazz
Food
Room service menu ok, not great. Cheese & Grapes £7.95 NO BISCUITS!!! Hospitality tray minimal amounts
Bathroom - as stated too small given the size of the room. Soap and shower gel in wall dispensers as you get in Travelodge
Bed
Comfy, but inadequate pillows
Breakfast
General self service which was ok. Tea/Coffee from flasks so really poor quality and 'stewed', no choice of eggs, and jams etc all in large jars which you would normally see in a 3* guest house

I recently stayed at the Park Inn Nottingham which was poles apart, in quality and service. There were Dead sea Minerals toiletries, a mini bar, numerous pillows to choose from etc etc.

For a brand to deliver consistency - something needs to change, or guests who travel extensively will avoid Park Inn because they won't know what to expect. When I stay at Holiday Inn/Hilton the standards are the same (to a lesser degree in the cheaper chains within the portfolio but still some consistency)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear froggyface

Thank you for taking time to share your comments I will look in to the differing standards with Nottingham and pleased you highlighted this.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband booked us a night here, as we were travelling to see friends who live in Southend. He got a cheap deal on booking.com - and we landed on our feet! They appear to have upgraded us - and then some! - to what the receptionist told us as we left was "The largest room in the hotel - we use it for wedding parties usually". The hotel is a refurbished Victorian hotel, and has all the quirky additions you'd expect from such a building.
The room itself was huge - more like a suite (about 30 ft long - with a king sized bed, desk, table and chairs, storage space and a lovely and clean en-suite shower room (with easily the best power shower I've experienced for a few years!). The air-conditioning/central heating was quiet and efficient. The room has a sea/estuary view - over the fairground and along the pier, to the Kent coast.Fabulous! There was a veranda which, on a lovely, sunny, Summer's afternoon, I can imagine you would enjoy sipping on a Pimm's. However, this weekend, there was a howling gale blowing up the Thames Estuary, and we remained indoors.
Even if we had been given a smaller room, we would have liked it - everything was clean and bedding fresh. The refurb was obviously not too long ago!
The reception staff were very polite - the gentleman that served me was brisk, efficient and friendly, and happy to explain their deal with parking in the Royal shopping mall car park opposite (£5 from 5pm until 9am!). Booking in took about 2 minutes, and booking out even less. We used the bar, which was staffed by a barman who served what we asked for quickly and politely.
My husband used the gym, and found it to be clean and very well-equipped and open from 6am.
We didn't have breakfast; we were going to see our friends.
The hotel is close to the entrance to the pier, and we braved the winds and rain to go for a short walk along to the amusements before we went out for the evening. The amusements are on the far side of the hotel, and unlikely to keep you awake. The fairground was quiet when we were there - I'm not sure it was open.
All in all, a lovely stay and one I would be happy to repeat, anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for room 101 if they have it free! It gets the sun in the afternoon/evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear foxylinz

Thank you so much for your wonderful review it is always a pleasure to receive such a positive honest account from our guests and I know my team also benefit from receiving your praise for the work they do every day, it is nice to know we do make a difference

I hope to welcome back to the Palace very soon

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea

Address: Church Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Park Inn By Radisson Palace Southend-On-Sea Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.