We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No place like home” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elizabeth Guest House
Save
You added Elizabeth Guest House to your Saves list
1 - 3 Herbert Grove, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No place like home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Me and my mate stayed here while visiting the area last year (August 2013). It was good value for £20 a night inclusive of breakfast but only 1 sausage for breakfast Pat - come on, look at the size of us! Rooms were fine, we had a room each, they were clean with en suite WC, sink and shower. Southend Sunset pole dancing exotic bar is just a minutes walk away, a very tidy establishment with some very interesting characters, we are going back August 2014 for another weekend.

Room Tip: There is noise from a boiler at the rear of the house overlooking the garden. Front of the house is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    5
    3
    9
See reviews for
7
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night, a week before Christmas. I needed somewhere cheap to stay, and the price here for a family room was just unbeatable!!

We had a room with double bed and bunk beds. The room had a sink and tv. Sheets were clean and the beds were comfy. Breakfast the next morning was tasty and cooked to order. What more could you want.

If you want luxury accommodation then you have to expect to pay the price tag that comes with it, if you want somewhere to rest your head for the night, then this is just perfect.

We were made to feel very welcome, and nothing was too much for the owner Pat.

Traditional guest house.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Me and my boyfriend & our little dog we are going to Elizabeth guest house soon we can not wait for that we dont care what people say about the guest house just because you all don't like the guest house but we do & it is every good value for money we love pat & Family from Emma & Derek & our lovely dog ♡♥♡

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Two family's stayed here in July as a last min booking.The rooms are a little dated but you get what u pay for. We both had family rooms we all had a good nights sleep.we would consider staying here again

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at the Elizabeth for 2 weeks whyl visitng a termaly ill frend in southend hospital being a woman alone I felt safe and comfortable at the Elizabeth pat and fillis was kind and friendly a big 10 ought of 10 for the loverly full English breakfast it kept me going all day

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a tired guest house like many up and down the uk coast. The pictures on the walls are faded and it's generally a tired old guest house. But for a budget price, you get a bed not too far from the sea and many of the main attractions, a good english breakfast along with choice of drinks and cereals, and a comfy bed in a room with all the basics. Tea making, tele, en suite etc.....
Not at all bad, but not a palace!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights with a friend and we were pleasantly surprised. The location is fantastic ( 2mins to beach, 2 mins to bus station/ town centre). Pat and Felicia were friendly hosts and the accomodation was good value for money.Rooms have tv, coffee/tea making facilities and beds are comfy and very clean.Cant comment on breakfast because I didnt get up in time(!) but Felicia made me a sarnie for later which I appreciated. I would happily stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en-suite- ask before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabeth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Guest House

Address: 1 - 3 Herbert Grove, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Guest House Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Elizabeth Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.