We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southend-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elizabeth Guest House
Save
You added Elizabeth Guest House to your Saves list
1 - 3 Herbert Grove, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Southend-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Essex
1 review
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me, my husband, father and 2 boys stayed for one night in this guest house recently. Our attitude was that we didnt want to splash out on anything too expensive as we just wanted to have somewhere to put our heads down to sleep after visiting the area! We were totally 'chuffed' at not only the price but the hospitality of the owners. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The list of things they done goes on but here is a few of the things they accomodated, They let us park on their driveway which was so much more easier with a 19 month old child and a disabled father then parking in the large car park. They heated up our sons bottle at any time of the day and made us all feel so comfortable and welcome. The room we stayed in was clean and tidy and the breakfast was lovely.

I am not sure what people expect when you pay next to nothing?? If you want 5* treatment then pay for it! What we paid for for the room at Elizabeth Guest house was definately reasonable in our eyes. Reading these previous reviews has not put me off my stay at Elizabeth Guest House and me and my family will definately be using it again should we visit Southend - on - Sea in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    5
    3
    9
See reviews for
6
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
STEVENAGE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at Elizabeth guest House for 3 nights-the owners were very friendly-clean and tidy rooms,good breakfast and the location was great with free parking on there driveway and free parking on the road where I parked my van-for 3 nights myself and my partner will definitely use the Elizabeth on future visits to Southend-great value for money and it is the third time I have visited Southend in the past 15 months and will stay there on future visits

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

i love the Elizabeth guest house, i spent 2 nights there after my wedding. me and my husband both had a great stay. not only was we greeted with an exceptional warming we also had a card and flowers in our room upon arrival. since then we have decided to make it a monthly thing to spend a weekend. the room was clean and just the right size if your looking for a cozy place to spend a few nights then this is a great choice, not to mention the great portions they serve at breakfast, i was stuffed, wow all for £49 a night that's what i call a bargain.
all in all i would recommend Elizabeth guest house to anyone looking for a place to stay.
.

Room Tip: we had room 11 and my friend had room 3 which were both really nice rooms with ensuits
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Me and partner and our little dog we stay here and we can leave our dog here when we went to go just us two we love the owner and family we come when there is air show or get away from home in hertfordshire we love it here every much so.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We needed a cheap room to stay in after a friend's wedding. On first entering the property, it seemed OK at first glance. We were shown to our room. The room was in need of modernisation. A patch of wallpaper was missing above the bed. However, we noticed the missing patch had been replaced on the wall opposite. Strangely, the wallpaper patterns did not match so it was hard to understand why anyone would do this! The "en suite" was similar to something you would have in a caravan, it was like a tiny wet room. So if you used the shower, the toilet would be wet afterwards. The pressure from the shower head was non existent and came out like a trickle. The TV had a coin meter which cost, I think, £3 for 2 hours. We wondered what would happen if you wanted to watch a long movie which went over the two hours? Would you have to pay another £3 just to see the last 10 minutes of the film?
The other guests during the night were a nuisance. We heard a drunken guest repeatedly and loudly tell someone that it was 4 o'clock in the morning. This went on for about half an hour to an hour and no one intervened. It didn't seem that the owner was around. We hardly got any sleep. The bed was uncomfortable. The standard of cleaning was poor.

We would have rather have slept in the car park opposite than this place.

We did not complain at the end of our stay or during as we felt any complaint would fall on deaf ears and we did not see the owner after booking in.

Room Tip: The best room would be in another bed and breakfast altogether in our opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

Manky rooms, no on-suite (although could argue that's standard for b&b). Turned up at 6pm, rang door, no answer, only got in cos my mates who had arrived earlier let me in. Vastly overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

On arriving at 8pm we were greeting by a man who did not speak any english, he showed us to our room which smelt musky and damp. the decoration was poor and cleaning was obviously not high on their agender as the bed sheets were dirty and there seemed what looked like cat hair all over the carpet. En suite was cramped and dirty, there was hair in the shower basin and the sink, and a foul smell coming from the plug hole. On going down the next morning for breakfast my mum tripped on torn carpet that had been patched up with tape on the stairs. We decided against having breakfast in the B&B and went along the seafront instead.......i would not let a family of rats stay in this guest house

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabeth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Guest House

Address: 1 - 3 Herbert Grove, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Guest House Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Elizabeth Guest House Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.