We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pier View to your Saves list
Pier View
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A truly lovely guesthouse in a great location with an excellent sea view. The staff were really friendly and very welcoming. The continental breakfast had a vast selection and kept us full for the majority of the day. We will definitely stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
118
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can highly recommend this hotel. Although we only stayed one night with them, we surely will be back on our next stop-over from belfast.
Very friendly owners, very clean and comfortable rooms. Superb breakfast with large variety. Loved it. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I booked two rooms for my family to stay the night of my wedding. Ed & Barbara were great they had the rooms ready early so my family could get ready. The rooms were lovely, clean & very comfortable. Prefect location too, my two young nephews loved that they could see the sea!!!
I would definitely book again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a wonderful B&B - more like a hotel. Elegant, clean, and a fabulous view. The continental breakfast was delicious. We weren't sure where to eat in Southend, and I'm a vegetarian. The owner not only recommended a few restaurants that would suit, but also printed out menus for us. We were also able to leave out bags the next day until we were ready to catch our train. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Princess Caroline room - huge bed! Although it faced the front, the noise was minimal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at pier view for the last 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very clean and the bed was lovely and comfortable. Loads of nice extra touches that go above and beyond a normal b&b and the service was very sweet and helpful throughout. Location is perfect right on the seafront and high street. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went to Southend to visit a friend and chose Pier View from the info available online. It is ideally situated and very clean and comfortable. Other reviews have already mentioned how friendly the owner/staff are. They are absolutely right!! We stayed in the Prince Regent room which was adequate for us for a night. It was spotlessly clean. We did not find parking to be a problem, fortunately finding on street parking right outside on each occasion that we needed it :) The breakfast was great, plenty of choice and every little detail thought of! The quality was good too, very nice way to begin the day.
If we were to return to Southend, Pier View would be our first choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The staff at Pier View are so friendly and nothing is a problem. We had one room on the ground floor, the Lady Hamilton room and the Pier View room on the top floor. We had help getting our suitcase to the top room as it is quite steep. The rooms were nicely furnished and clean. I would recommend the Lady Hamilton room as it was easy to access and felt more spacious with high ceilings. The Pier View room has a great view but feels smaller and the window is quite small. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection and the lady even asked how our room was and how we had slept. The balcony of the dining room was great for a cup of tea in the afternoon, with nice views over the sea and pier. We had a lovely chat with the owner and he offered us biscuits as well. The location is great and we would definitely stay here again if in Southend. Thank you to the staff for making our stay a memorable one. Just one thing is the parking, with free parking from 6pm to 9am in the street and outside of that you have to remember to put money in the meter, but the staff reminded us as well.

Room Tip: Lady Hamilton room on the ground floor is easy to access and has a spacious feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View

Address: 5 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier View is a wonderful grade II Guest House which opened after an extensive refurbishment and has been awarded a 4 star + Gold award. Ideally situated in the heart of Southend, the elegant Georgian property has stunning views over the estuary, the world's famous Pier and is walking distance from all the entertainment the town has to offer. Pier View has been lovingly restored, showing off its original Georgian architecture and includes modern facilities.Winner of the 2010 Essex Tourism Award in the best B&B / Guest House category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Pier View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier View Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Pier View Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.