We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harlow North Weald

Harlow North Weald
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Weald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harlow North Weald
Save
You added Harlow North Weald to your Saves list
A414, Epping Road | Tylers Green, North Weald CM16 6BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Weald
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel from hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Last minute between christmas and new year booking, checked in and dropped bags not really having a look around the room (20).
We got back later about 10.30pm ready to go to bed and found the bed looking like a horror scene. Blood stains all over the quilt. Went to complain and was given a single quilt for our double bed. Asked for a double quilt was the given the keys for 2 other rooms to go and find a quilt ourselves. The receptionist was chinese and couldn't speak much english. Couldn't sleep as we were too petrified. Unless you like hammer house of horror films give this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Needed a night's sleep at last minute in the area, being so near to Xmas did not want the hassle of looking around in the area. Phoned from M1 and booked, no problem. ,

Car Park was very quiet, say 10 cars, the receptionist was helpful enough, the reception and corridors to our room clean with what appeared to be new carpeting. Room was minimalist supposedly, my description more like Spartan but for one night very clean, had tea making equipment and the bathroom acceptable, although the warning that the towel rail can get hot always amuses me in hotels, more so here as there wasn't one!

Ate one minute up the road at the Harvester, fair meals although how a steak house can run out of mustard I find somewhat surprising! Back to the Hotel, comfy bed, asleep by 11.30pm. Four hours later the WWF started their Xmas party directly above us. Sound proofing is not exactly great, one could not just hear the talking and music, but it seems when the bouts started there was an enormous amount of "put downs", thought they were coming through the ceiling!

Whilst this went on for 11/2 hours when it stopped slept OK. To be fair it was hardly the owners fault and it was Xmas.

At £60 probably overpriced, would I go there again, at a push just about, but probably I would look to try other places in the area beforehand.

Room Tip: Check where WWF have booked their rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It may have had a name change, but this is still a Travelodge in every other aspect, and not a good one. The new owners may have rebranded it - sorry guys, it's in neither Epping nor Epping Forest - but the rooms are exactly as they were in the bad old Travelodge days, albeit with an extra pillow and a towel. They even appeared to be using the Travelodge crockery! And, for this, you will pay a princely £60 a night (£80 at the weekend), around twice as much as you did for the same room previously! Stay somewhere else; there's plenty in the area that are better and cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Weald hotels

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is awful ! The receptionist was rude and very unhelpful. There were no pillows on the bed and when we asked for some she gave us two very old thin ones that were useless Nd when we asked for some more she was very unhelpful with her reply stating that she did not have anymore! We then had to go out and BUY some!!!
The taps in the bath did not work properly and taking a shower was a nightmare experience. I would never stay at this hotel again and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed 4 weeks ago and was very disappointed to say the least, was never going to stay there again but was in the area on business and when driving past I saw the Travelodge sign had gone. I pulled in and things seemed to have changed, car park quiet but clean, entrance looked clean and inside staff very friendly and helpful. I asked to see a room and was surprised that since my previous visit it was much cleaner. I asked about the price and found it OK so decided to stay. It was Ok this time, cleaner and staff excellent so I will give them another chance. Little Chef is closed but I was told a new authentic restaurant is in the pipeline so will give that a try when it's open. If you've been before and didn't like it, maybe give them another chance??

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less traffic noise, but noise is no real issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harlow North Weald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlow North Weald

Address: A414, Epping Road | Tylers Green, North Weald CM16 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > North Weald
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Weald
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Travelodge Harlow North Weald Hotel North Weald
Travelodge North Weald
Harlow North Weald Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harlow North Weald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.