We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two good meals at the Brantham Bull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brantham Bull

The Brantham Bull
The Street | Brantham, Manningtree CO11 1PN, England
01473 328248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Manningtree
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Vegetarian, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A beautiful 16th century pub and restaurant on the Essex/Suffolk border with stunning views of the garden and the River Stour. Offering traditional pub classics in a light and modern restaurant, it is perfect for a pub lunch, celebration or dinner with friends.
UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Two good meals at the Brantham Bull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went to the Bull twice as I was part of a group staying nearby. Thoroughly enjoyed both meals, of excellent quality and reasonable value - in fact some of our portions were too big. Really enjoyed a main meal feta salad. Service was polite and efficient. Oh and the the Adnams was good also!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal and great service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal in this lively, family friendly pub and I can't recommend it more. The meal was lovely, my rump steak was cooked to perfection! I'd just like to thank Taff our fantastic waitress who really made the meal! She's such a character! A* thanks a bunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“When the Chips are down, don't call me Shellfish!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Fish night; had the Lobster and it was ok but chips were pretty terrible. Service was average at best. Pocket was hit hard. Would I go again? Maybe. Will I have the Lobster again? No.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A surprising stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Was surprised how big and busy the restaurant was on a lunch visit.
Had a good meal in nice surroundings, nothing exceptional but would happily stop there again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Myself and my wife used the bull for lunch on a Saturday afternoon,the food was fantastic as was the very friendly service.The eating area was very light and airy and had a really comfortable feel about it,There are tables in the really nice garden area along with a good child's play area.
All in all a really pleasant experience that I will definetely sample again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brantham Bull also viewed

 

Been to The Brantham Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brantham Bull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.