We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally lived up to its splendid reputation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Inn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Horndon-on-the-Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bell Inn Hotel
Save
You added The Bell Inn Hotel to your Saves list
High Rd., Horndon-on-the-Hill SS17 8LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Graz, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Totally lived up to its splendid reputation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We were on our way home from a day's strenuous shopping, and popped into the Bell Inn for a much-needed drink. The ambience was so charming, and the staff so friendly and helpful -- despite the fact they were already catering for a wedding that day -- that we decided on impulse to make a night of it. We had a beautiful meal in the bar area, and slept in a fabulous room full of character and with a large and comfortable bathroom. i would certainly recommend this establishment on every aspect. We'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    33
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
57
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This village pub on a hilltop near Basildon is a wonderful discovery. It has everything you'd want if you have to work nearby: excellent gastropub food, really comfortable accommodation in attractive rooms and suites (and serviceable apartments with self-catering facilities and free internet access), a friendly clientele and attentive staff. All in a charming flower-filled setting and at reasonable prices. But it's small and extremely popular so you have to book in advance to be sure of getting a room.

Room Tip: The suites are worth going for, themed, spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I cannot find fault with The Bell, rooms are well appointed and spotless, with real caharacter. Food is top notch, some of the best, if not the best you will get anywhere in the world, let alone the UK, the wine list is excellent, but you will not go wrong with the house red or white if unsure, and they keep a good selection of beers. Its a 15th Century coaching house that proves that it can still be done right in the 21st century. There is a great atmosphere in the bar, a mixture of locals, regulars, and travellers. Cannot reccomend it enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the themed suites are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed just for the night on a Saturday and eat in the restaurant ( a room upstairs) The food was lovely and the young waiter was attentive but as it got busy we felt a little neglected.I think on reflection I would have prefered to eat in the pub as it had a lovely atmosphere. Our room was in Hill House and quirky .We had to climb up steps to the wardrobe.I loved it! Had to leave early so didnt sample the breakfast.
I would like to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Just had a wonderful overnight stay at the Bell Inn. From the moment I walked through the door the experience was excellent. The staff were friendly and very professional, the wine and beer choice were superb and the meal did not dissappoint.
In particular the lamb chump was beautiofully tender and served with the most exquisite vegatables. The pink port to go with dessert was superb and a revelation.
The overnight stay just got better with a beautiful bed and fantastic bath. All in all a lovely suite.
It was all topped off with a lovely full cooked breakfast. Fantastic!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

What can I say, apart from amazing in every way
Best food ive ever had in my very well travelled life.
Staff so professional, atmosphere wonderful
i loved every moment !!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The chef must have been watching too many Masterchef programmes. The accompaniements to my steak was supposed to be a stilton cheese sauce and a
brocolli mousse type sauce. I had to ask where the brocolli mousse was because it was not evident and the stilton cheese sauce was four small pea sized blobs on the plate. The brocolli mousse turned out to be a smear underneath the steak.

The starter I had was a crab ravioli on rocket at just under £8. There was one ravioli on some rocket with a sauce.

I have eaten regularly in this restaurant over the years and it was a favorite, despite being expensive, but worth the money. I feel it is now too expensive for what you actually get on the plate. Our two course meal with a bottle of wine and tip was £100.

I hope the establishment take note of my review.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bell Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Inn Hotel

Address: High Rd., Horndon-on-the-Hill SS17 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Horndon-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horndon-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn Hotel is a boutique establishment featuring 27 individually-styled bedrooms. Some are above the 15th century coaching Inn with the rest in 2 beautifully converted Georgian buildings, a few paces up the high street. Rooms vary in size from cosy nooks to grand suites. All feature modern and period twists that are sympathetic to the listed buildings that house them. The hotel appears in The Times Cool Hotel List May 2014. Award winning food and bars are available in The Bell Inn and The Ostlers. Room Rates are inclusive of continental breakfast. Nearest Stations: Laindon - (10 minutes)West Horndon - (10 minutes)Nearest AirportsGatwick - (50 minutes)Heathrow - (60 minutes)Stansted - (45 minutes)Southend (30 mins)London City Airport (30 mins) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bell Inn & Hill House Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill
Bell Inn And Hill House
Bell Hotel Hill
The Bell Inn Hotel Horndon-On-The-Hill, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.