We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belive the hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Korai - CLOSED

The Korai
185 High Street | MOVED LOCATION, Hornchurch RM11 3XS, England
+44 1708 440003
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Still You can feast on the very best in genuine indian cuisine served here at the inspirational korai spice.We bring to you flavours from all regions of india to give an authentic culinary experience.Our outstanding chefs are renown for preparing exquisite dishes from the indian sub-continent,full of authentic tastes and flavours.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Belive the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just look at the other ratings for this place and ignore the only bad one. I eat in and have takeaways from this place and have never had a bad meal from here, a few weeks ago i had food deliverd to my home and it was a bit late getting to me the management were very apologetic and took £10 off the bill. Now thats what i call service, if you have a problem let them know i am sure they will do there best to resolve it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    15
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have visited this restaurant on a few occasions now, initially led there by the outstanding reviews on this site. We can safely vouch that the previous 31 glowing reviews (of the 33 total) accurately reflect the quality of food and level of customer care we have experienced on each of our visits. This is our restaurant of choice for a tasty Indian meal - as it is now for those we have taken/recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another fantastic meal at The Korai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Just had another fantastic meal from The Korai. Food was beautiful, service friendly and helpful. Noor is always on hand to recommend new dishes or cook anything that isn't on the menu especially. The food is fresh, plentiful and reasonably priced. We eat Indian food regularly and this is still our favourite by a long shot. Don't read much into the bad reviews, I find it hard to believe The Korai would not have rectified any problems had they been pointed out, it's too customer orientated for that. There is only one toilet, which I have always found to be spotless.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
korai-Indiancuisine, Owner at The Korai, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear customer

Thank you for your comments. We really appreciate it.we are glad you enjoy eating at The Korai.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Management
The korai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst Indian takeaway ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Ordered through hungryhorse. Prices seemed reasonable. Daughter ordered King Prawn Delight which did not live up to the description. £9.95 for 3 king prawns is a rip off. My prawn balti comprised of a few small prawns swamped by onions. Definitely the worst meal in 30 years of visiting Indian restaurants. Avoid this place like the plague.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
korai-Indiancuisine, Owner at The Korai, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
A new competitor opened recently has been questioning staff on premises. the head chef is one of the owners, he double checks all food which is served. We have not had any complaints since opening. we hold a very good reputation because of standards of the food and service we provide to our customers, which we are very proud of. We take all reviews seriously and welcome any constructive criticism, however we believe this review was intentionally published to ruin our business. If this review is genuine then we would firstly like to apologise. I to am an owner and onsite eveeyday, I check with all customers that they are comfortable and happy. If your experience was so awful how comes you did not call us at the time?? We take all reviews seriously and currently investigating into this, I assure you we will take necessary actions to resolve any issues. We would like to invite you and your family to visit The Korai. If you are not satisfied and we do not meet your expectations then we will happily provide you with a refund. Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Noor Ludi
Management
The korai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best indian food in hornchurch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just wanted to say.. I had a superb meal yesterday night with my mrs. Excellent chicken jungle curry and baby lamb shatkora. Although the restuarent is fully licensed, they still allow customers to bring their own alcohol thats great-value for money. We'll definitely visiting again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Korai also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Korai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.