We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zarana Indian Restaurant

Zarana Indian Restaurant
55 High St., Hornchurch RM11 1TP, England
01708 45 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zarana Indian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 80 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hornchurch
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice food fast service but for a Friday night it was very quite. Was a bit shocked with the bill even though I had a taste card it was still expensive

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“worst indian ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

well to say this was a disapointment was a understatement
if this was my first Indian then i would be put off for life
pompadoms to start with nothing wrong there
the lamb starters was tough as old boots they waiters hardly understood what i was asking for got red instead of rose' which i asked for twice and it went down hill from there
the staff seemed un organised and never gave of any friendly atmosphere to the experience what so ever
no indian music in the background i hastened to add

i felt rushed and the kept on comming over collecting sauces when we already asked to keep them however the team didnt seem to communicate.
never got asked at anytime how the meal was
the dish i ask for was to be mild which came out hot and spicy which was no wear what i asked for there for putting me off the rest of my meal

the pershwari nan was coated in a oily substance which looked more like a flat garlic bread

shame as i went on the basis of the reviews on this site

the worst meal ive had in a long while

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Zarana the only Indian to go to in hornchurch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I've been using zarana now since they opened over a year ago and it's absolutely fabulous not only eat in but take away too I've reccomend to several people and they have not been disappointed I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough they certainly look after their regulars :))

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great family meal out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Took my husband and 9 month old for dinner there, Staff where so helpful, and could not do enough for us, The food was great, lots of different taste and good price, Will be going back,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

When I booked for firms night out (3 of us) i asked if the food was cooked fresh. The reason I asked is because of a pepper allergy. Firstly the waiter who showed us to our table was surly. I had chicken tikka as a starter (bit dry) but ok. I ordered my main course explaining about my allergy only to be told that the sauce is pre-made and it contains peppers. I asked if they could make some without peppers as their food is made "fresh" only to be told that the same sauce is adapted for different dishes. I was told I could have lamb chop or another tikka. It was too late to leave and find another restaurant. Having said that my colleagues enjoyed their meals. I have only ever experienced this problem once before where dishes were 'adapted' and not cooked fresh and I frequently eat in Indian restaurants.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zarana Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zarana Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zarana Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.