We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Curry House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caf Balti

Caf Balti
307 Hornchurch Road | Elm Park, Hornchurch RM12 4TQ, England
01708 448 364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 90 Restaurants in Hornchurch
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Based in Hornchurch, Essex, Caf�� Balti is a favourite of local curry fans, offering some of the best Indian cuisine in the area. A classic balti restaurant, Caf�� Balti is located on a corner of the busy Hornchurch Road, close to Grenfell Park and easily accessed from the neighbourhoods of Rush Green, Romford and Heath Park and as such finds itself consistently busy with both takeaway and eat in guests seeking good food. Typically decorated in blue and white tones, Caf�� Balti has an informal and friendly atmosphere with extremely efficient service from smiling, helpful staff who appear to have an excellent knowledge of the menu. Extensive and detailed, Caf�� Balti sets itself apart from other Indian restaurants by offering less usual dishes from the various culinary regions of the country, including Goan curries and Mughal specialties. Caf�� Balti���s set meals provide real value for money while special offers mean that you���ll be left with plenty of change for a trip to the pub before heading home.
UK
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Good Curry House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was the first restaurant we visited when we first moved to Hornchurch as it is really close to our home. For the last 8 years we have visited about 30 times and always been pleased. The current owners and the previous were always attentive and friendly. They always have special offers and we frequently get vouchers through the door. They do all the standards and a few specialties, a particular favourite at the moment is their fish ball curry. The only downside really is the decor which is a little unusual.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, Essex, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Our local curry house and a great one too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We eat here on a regular basis, sometimes just the 2 of us and sometimes with our family (including young children). The staff are always incredibly friendly and helpful. We have seen several changes of staff over the years but these always seem well planned with an existing staff member taking over. The food is always excellent, never had a bad meal here. Tale aways are good too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Good at All”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The staff and decor is OK, but the main reason to be there for us was the food, based on the trip adviser review.
We was surprised that it was quite empty, but it all became apparent when I dishes was served.
We always order 2 dishes with a side dish, so as to share and experiences more flavors.
The dishes we choose were "South Indian" , although different on the menu, the only real difference was 1 had more chilies than the other.
Although a tray (with candles) to keep the dishes hot was placed on our table, the only reason for this was to keep the side dish hot (it was served in a metal dish), the 2 main dishes were served on big square plates which could not fit on the warmer tray.
They was not very nice, and the method of serving the food was poor and the bill not cheap we certainly will not be return to this restaurant with so many other really good restaurants nearby.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were taken by friends for a meal and were not disappointed. We come here each time we come from Cornwall and always enjoy the food and atmosphere.
The massala's and korma's are lovely. The staff are attentive and friendly.
Would recommend this as a fantastic place to eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best Indian restaurant. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I visit Cafe Balti regularly for an evening meal (so much so we are on first name terms with the Waiters!). I had once sworn by a different Indian restaurant, that was until I was introduced to Cafe Balti. It has the nicest food you could ask for, extremely good deals and staff to match. Once you visit, you'll be hooked; I guarantee it! (by the way, request the Sag Chicken Voilà, you will NOT be disappointed!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caf Balti also viewed

Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 
Hornchurch, Greater London
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Been to Caf Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caf Balti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.