We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stansted Stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harwood House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harwood House to your Saves list
Harwood House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   52 Stortford Road | near Stansted Airport, Great Dunmow CM6 1DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Great Dunmow B&B and Inns
Devon, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stansted Stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Looking at the other reviews, I have really tried hard to find a small criticism to balance all the superlatives. I failed. The accommodation, the breakfast but, most of all, the friendly attention are unsurpassed. By the way, it's excellent value as well.

Room Tip: Be guided by Ian and Helen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
97
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed overnight before our flight from Stansted. The room was absolutley superb, our hosts Ian and Helen simply marvellous. The hotel is a great credit to both of them. Would definately stay again and highly recommend to all. What a great start to our holiday, we arrived rested and refreshed ready for our flight! The pub/restaurant across the road was warm and friendly and served delicious Indian food.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pink Room which was of a high standard and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

After an unscheduled delay at Stanstead due to a little snow we needed a place to stay. Ian picked us up at the airport and brought us to their lovely B & B. With a pub and Indian restaurant across the street our needs for food and entertainment were met. Our room was nice and the beds were comfy and Ian got up at the early hours to take us to the airport. We would definatly stay there again.
Karl & Rolf

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before jetting off from Stansted Airport for a weeks holidays .
The room was very spacious and comfortable with refreshments and nice soaps in the ensuite.
Ian is very helpful and organised . We did a day trip to London and Ian was very helpful with looking up bus schedules for us . Breakfast was promptly served at the appointed time and
was served in a nice dining room with a grand view of the garden .
We set off for the airport very early the following day , and Ian drove us to the airport at an ungodly hour , and presented us with a lovely packed breakfast - couldn't ask for better really .
After our holiday , we made a smooth rendez vous with Ian , following his very clear instructions regarding meeting points .
We really enjoyed our stay and will be back soon .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

we stayed here overnight before going on holiday.guest house is beautiul warm and immaculate.ian took us to the airport early next morning and even gave us a lovely snack box breakfast to take with us.this was a perfect start to our holiday.this is a lovely guest house run by lovely people.if you are looking for a nice place to stay look no further.we will be staying here again and will certainly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in this area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in their family room with our two children as we were attending a wedding nearby. At time of booking, Helen booked cab to and from wedding venue for us as her husband, Ian, had plans (Ian is a cab driver). On first arrival I found Ian and Helen to be extremely helpful. Ian made sure we were aware of some of their other guests who were also attending the wedding as we were due to share a cab at end of evening. This attention to detail was very well received. They give you different choices for breakfast either a full English or some lighter choices which were well received by the kids as they were happy to have a sausage sandwich and beans on toast. Breakfast was lovely, well cooked and very tasty. Sausages were best I've tasted! Room was spacious and kids had an adjoining room which was small but perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great place. We stopped overnight whilst waiting for a flight. Dunmow town (turn left when leaving B&B) just a short (10 mins walk for me) and Tescos just 10 minutes in the opposite direction. half hourly bus outside takes you to Stanstead terminal in 20 minutes. Breakfast was freshly cooked and service was excellent. Host Ian was very helpful and the guest lounge and use of garden was very welcome. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: There are downstairs rooms available for those not so good on their legs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harwood House

Address: 52 Stortford Road | near Stansted Airport, Great Dunmow CM6 1DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Dunmow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Great Dunmow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harwood House offers bed & breakfast accommodation only a few miles from Stansted Airport. A short walk from shops, pubs and restaurants, friendly welcome guaranteed; a comfortable, relaxing night's sleep and delicious home-cooked breakfast. The owner is a licensed taxi driver and provides a park and fly service, call for a quote. All bedrooms en-suite with Freeview TV, free wireless internet access, guest conservatory, guest lounge and license to serve alcohol. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harwood House Great Dunmow, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harwood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.