We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Starr Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Starr Inn to your Saves list
The Starr Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place, Great Dunmow CM6 1AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Great Dunmow
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of a 2500 mile journey around the UK. The young staff where so accommodating, organising for us to get our washing done as we flew the next day, helping us to print off boarding passes and organising an early takeaway breakfast for us to have in the car on the way to Stanstead. The food from the restaurant was outstanding and the service warm, knowledgable and friendly. The owner is very lucky to have such great staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
14
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We hadn't been to the Starr for at least ten years and it was good to return. We had only ever eaten there in the past and had never needed an overnight stay because we lived nearby. We now live in Cornwall (and have our own self catering business) and returned to Dunmow for a party. The rooms were comfortable and very well equipped, if a little dated. But the breakfast was outstanding! Everything served at the table and cooked to order. None of the queuing up often experienced in most hotels where hot food often sits for hours! This was outstanding! The service was attentive too!

Room Tip: Roomy, comfortable and exceptionally well equipped eg real (filter) coffee and not the horrible sach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Only stayed one night, room was okay & clean.
Some minor repairs needed but nothing massive.

Continental breakfast was good, did not use the restaurant or bar

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The Starr has a bad mismatch between the standard of the restaurant and the rooms.

The food is the best I've eaten in a long time and at 39.75 for 3 courses, great value in my opinion. To give an idea, I started with seared tuna loin on spiced papaya salad with avocado ice cream, followed with rare pigeon breast with foie gras and a confit leg pasty & carrots (pureed and whole), finished with a dark chocolate slab with salty nuts and caramel ice cream. Fab, Fab, Fab.

the management they would do them up nicely, The Starr at Dunmow would, without doubt be my no 1 spot.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Given the choice i would never stay in a large branded hotel. So, up in the area for a family celebration and being a foodie we stumbled upon this on the net and gave it a go. The rooms are a bit dated (sheets, blankets and uninspiring pine furniture) but priced reasonably in comparison to the major chains. Having said that we were not charged the rack rate that was posted on the door. I might have quibbled had we done so. The restaurant was well appointed and breakfast in the conservatory was an absolute joy. The road running past was a trifle invasive if you are used to complete silence in your bedroom at night.
We happened to book on a "theme" night where the restaurant was sold out for a Thai cooking night. Always a bad sign in my view. Expect waiters in outfits hired for the night and, unless you have brought in a talented thai chef, expect an anglified version of thai food which bears no relation to the authentic cuisine. It turns out that i was not wrong. It was not, by any means, terrible and we enjoyed ourselves. But the scallops were seared and left under the hotplate a little too long and were a tad dry. The belly pork was well cooked but needed an extra minute under the grill to crisp up perfectly. The lemon grass was not quite fresh enough to infuse the flavours into the sea bass. An Englishman's take on thai flavours. And at £35 per head. I note that their normal menu is £39 per head. At that price i want fireworks from the kitchen. I want extraordinary juxtapositions of taste and flavour.
It just was not quite there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night in mid July, never again it was hottest day of the year 33 degrees and our bedroom felt like an oven. We left bedroom windows open and went out for the evening. on returning our room had not cooled down at all it was hotter! we then discovered the bathroom towel rail was on full and we could not turn it off. reception was called the girl could do nothing so then got manager over all he could do was to turn off the pump in the loft. it helped slightly but we hardly slept that night! In the morning the rail was still warm. The room its self was very dated and not very clean either, we then went down for breakfast 2 stale croissants and white sliced bread for toast not at all good considering they are supposed to have 2 AA rosettes. do not know what food was like in the evening as we went else where. The only good point was they halved our bill on leaving would not go back again ever!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridg Wells
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Was unfortunate enough to stay in Blue Room (see earlier review). Cramped (no space for bedside tables) , generally a bit shabby and no bath despite paying £130! Nasty dirty bedspread, windowless shower room with cheap fittings and very inadequate water pressure. Feel totally ripped off for the room. That said, the food and service in the restaurant were excellent. Don't stay here unless someone else is paying and avoid the Blue Room at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Starr Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Starr Inn

Address: Market Place, Great Dunmow CM6 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Dunmow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Great Dunmow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Starr Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starr first opened it's doors in the 15th century as a coaching in on the Suffolk to London route. In the court yard we have converted the old stable block into a comfortable 8 bedroom hotel all with en-suit bathrooms & free WI-FI. Our first class locally sourced breakfast is served in the restaurant where you sit surrounded by the exposed oak beams of the original inn.The Starr is only 15 minutes drive from Stansted airport making in the ideal place for that overnight stop or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Starr Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starr Hotel Great Dunmow
The Starr Inn Great Dunmow, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Starr Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.