We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finds keep on coming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spotted Dog

The Spotted Dog
Bishops Green | Barnston, Great Dunmow cm6 1nf, England
01245 231598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Great Dunmow
Price range: $0 - $56
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The finds keep on coming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I visited The Spotted Dog one Thursday evening with my wife for dinner. I was looking for somewhere we hadn't been before, and came across the restaurant using Trip Adviser. A very friendly greeting awaited us and from that moment on, the evening just got better. The restaurant was full giving it a really nice atmosphere, but the star of the show was the food. All the dishes were beautifully cooked and seasoned, each one had bags of flavor, but you could really tell that the ingredients were top quality, with my personal favorite being the liver, a simple dish but brilliantly executed. By now we were full, but having had a great experience so far we could not resit trying the deserts. It was so delicious I wanted another, it really was that good. This just left the bill! and all I can say is that considering what we ate and the quality of the food I would not have been surprised had it come to a lot more than it did. We will be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    48
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely setting & great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely setting, there are not that many tables so its nice and intimate. The food was amazing, the staff very friendly and not overly attentive. Will definitely be re visiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Eaten here a few times, the food is always of excellent quality. Staff / owners are always friendly, nice place to go for lunch or a special occasion. Well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb village pub with restaurant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Just moved into area & read reviews. Wow, what a find. Superb pub/restaurant with GREAT food and service. Lovely atmosphere and good selection on the menu. Would personally like to see more guest ales but def go back again very soon as could well be my new local. Great staff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely family meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a great meal here on Saturday night to celebrate my dad's birthday. The lady who served us (I think she runs the place with her husband) even overhead it was my dad's birthday and arranged for his dessert to be decorated.

We all loved our food, the meat and fish dishes were very succulent and tasty and you get a good serving of potatoes and vegetables to shared. There was a good range of options to choose from and some lovely desserts (my sister said the coffee cheesecake was the best she had ever tasted) We will definitely be back again !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spotted Dog also viewed

Great Dunmow, Essex
Great Dunmow, Essex
 

Been to The Spotted Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spotted Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.