We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon to your Saves list
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon
A127 East Horndon, East Horndon CM13 3LL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horndon
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bloody Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

See "Disgusting Hotel" below....I and my wife were there for 3 nights over exactly the same period, 18th to 20th October 2012.
Terrible noise from partying girls all bloody night in the rooms above.
Got so pissed off on third night that I checked out a 2am and drove all the way home to Blackpool in the small wee hours after only about 3 hours sleep for 3 nights in a row.
Have written a letter of complaint to head office, I WANT MY MONEY BACK.

Room Tip: Go to Premier Inn, there's one not far down the A127
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Rob R,

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    17
    20
    68
See reviews for
28
26
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

1st task after arriving at the hotel was to remove make up from the tiles in the bathroom, which quite obviously had not been cleaned in some time.
Dubious stains on bed settee, no mattress protectors, cobwebs all round room, mould in bathroom.
First night, was woken at 12.45am by drunken group of older men, singing, shouting slamming doors continued for several hours, problem is, reception is not manned, so no one to complain to, could not even find a telehone number on any paperwork to ring to complain. In the end we complained next morning to reception staff, who in fairness were very apologetic, and moved us to another room.
Second night, returned to our room at around 10,45pm, our corridor was full young girls shouting, banging, slamming doors, continued until around 3.30am, then started again at 6.00am.
Budget hotels, I expect facilities to be basic, I don't expect breakfast, but when I pay for somewhere to sleep, I do expect to be able to sleep, maximum of 6 hours sleep over two nights.
I will never stay in a Travelodge again, sorry Travelodge, you have lost my custom, next time it will be Premier Inn, where I have never had the need to complain.

Room Tip: If you are booking a room for sleep, don't bother with this hotel, because sleep is impossible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Amanda P,

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Horndon hotels

West (is best) london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked a few weeks in advance and it was £70.00 for a Family room which means also contains a sofabed. No breakfast included in that either.
I have stayed in fantastic bed and breakfast for less money.

1. The corridors smelt stale and musty.
2. Room was musty
3. Light bulb was blown in the centre light
4. Mould happily growing on the window and a bit on the shower
5. Lovely display of spiders webs in the window

When we requested another room, we were told that there were no others and a member of staff kindly sprayed air freshener around.
No expense spared on the toiletries either we had toilet paper and soap.

This place reminded me of student digs.
Staff were pretty good considering what they had to work with.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear drainrat,

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns with cleanliness and state of repair. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

£60 for one night in a room with no toilet roll until I requested it (family members in adjacent rooms also had no loo-roll), no toiletries or even soap in the bathroom, an ancient 14" TV with awful picture and the worlds most expensive vending machine (so you can buy your toiletries or a water for £2) does NOT constitute value for money.

No provided duvet for the sofa bed, no matress protector... It's the kind of thing you'd see on a bad episode of The Hotel Inspector. Not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your post. I am sorry to learn you were disappointed with your stay on this occasion.

Information regarding our room facilities and brand standards are provided on our website, so customers may view this at any time. We feel that our rooms still provide the essentials needed to get good nights sleep, and also allows Travelodge to maintain low prices for our customers.

Once again, I apologise for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hotel is about 4 miles off the M25, which is why I chose it. This hotel is not in particuarly good condition, even by Travelodge standards.

Room was not especially clean with some sticky substance on the bedside table that there had been no attempt to clean.

Little Chef closed at 9pm; vending machine full but not accepting any money. Receptionist not that bothered.

Room was cold and even the electric radiator could not warm it up enough, especially with the thin duvet.

As it was booked at short notice, it was not especially cheap, so does not even really tick the value for money box.

Would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guf-uk,

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It took us ages to find this hotel (note, TOM TOM sat navs cannot find it on the postcode provided) but we should have taken this as a sign! The corridors stink and the noise levels from the TOWIE wannabe fellow guests was beyond a joke.The window had been left open in the room letting in all kinds of bugs and it struggled to regain any human temperature. The bathroom was disgusting and obviously had not seen bleach in years. We had one square of toilet roll left hanging off the empty roll and no spare. We had one towel and no spare bedding to make up the other bed. The carpet was so disgusting I kept my shoes on! The duvet had a very dodgy looking brown stain and a black curly black hair was found in the bed, which was lumpy and caused a pretty bad back by the morning. The noise levels continued when the revellers returned and were banging on doors for a laugh. We went to reception to ask for more loo roll and it took us a while to realise that the missing receptionist was one of the two gossiping ladies standing outside, she could clearly see us standing there but finished off her conversation first. This morning I have two massive bites on my face which I can only put down to the infestation of animals we had to sleep with that night. This is not what you expect of the Travelodge name and I think health and safety needs to seriously look into this place. There is a premier inn closer to the centre and well worth the extra tenner I wish I had paid. I am not a complainer and often stay in budget accommodation so have quite a high tolerance level however, this was disgusting! Please don't stay here, then maybe travelodge will put it out of its misery and shut this place down!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Scruffleboo,

Thank you for your comments.

We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay.

The points you've raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required of the hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate these issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the 'Contact Us' link below, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking information.

http://travelodge.parature.com/ics/support/ticketnewwizard.asp?css=contactus&deptID=15090&style=classic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

after reading reviews on tripadvisor i was dreading staying at this hotel, but i have to say that my fears were unfounded. The new manageress that has taken over recently is doing a good job putting things right, and this travelodge was one of the cleanest we've stayed in for a long time. The only downside is at the weekend it is full of drunk, orange TOWIES, and lads, and it is this reason that i have marked it as average, i would probably mark it higher if i stayed mid week. Again they are trying to sort this out, and i know that some were thrown out on the night we stayed, and i didn't think it was that bad anyway. My only real problem was the lumpy uncomfortable mattress that caused me to have very little sleep, but that is a general travelodge problem, and a general lack of investment in the hotels. The little chef is excellent, as is the halfway house pub next door,which serves a lovely meal.

Room Tip: if staying at the weekend be as far away from reception as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon

Address: A127 East Horndon, East Horndon CM13 3LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > East Horndon
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brentwood Hotel East Horndon
Travelodge East Horndon
East Horndon Travel Lodge
East Horndon Travelodge
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.