We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chudleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chudleigh to your Saves list
Chudleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Agate Rd, Marine Parade West, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a great hotel. The rooms are cosy, traditional but clean and appear freshly decorated. The owners are friendly and very welcoming. The breakfast was fantastic; quality food and perfectly cooked.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
91
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Chudleigh and found it was perfect for that length of stay. It's not the place to stay for a week because the communal areas are quite small ie the lounge and also the dining room which appeared to double as the bar. But for a short stay, you couldn't do better. The rooms are extremely well furnished with complimentary toiletries that you normally only find in larger hotels. The shower was excellent and the room was maintained to a very high standard. A great choice for breakfast and the owners and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Transplants
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We were taking a cruise out of Harwich, but wanted to stay in a fun location overnite before the cruise left. Stayed at the Chudleigh and it was great. Rooms were fresh and clean. We stayed in the family (3 person room) at the very top. Lots of stairs, but the room was nice with 2 seperate bathrooms, one with toilet and shower and the second with sink and bathtub. The owners were very friendly and nice. The breakfast in the morning was well cooked and tasty. The pier and amusements are just a few minutes walk away. Definitely reccomend and would stay again! (One complaint and this is not the fault of the hotel, but the seagulls were out of control and screeched all night! Usually people complain about drunken party goers making too much noise, but the seagulls never went to sleep and partied all night!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night on the 10th July as we were visiting the
local theatre as an anniversary treat. We would like to say a sincere thank you to the owners who were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Our room was perfect, well equipped and very, very clean. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. Again thanks for our brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We would recommend anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Clacton-on-sea,look no further than Chudleigh Hotel.The hotel is run to perfection by Peter and Carol,it is central to all the attractions,and you are very well cared for.We are looking to travel to this area many times in the future,as we have relatives and friends who live in Colchester,and will plan our trip,as to availability of a room at the Chudleigh.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed Chudleigh for a couple of nights at the beginning of June and it was very pleasant indeed. The owners were really lovely people and could not do enough for you to ensure you have a pleasurable stay. This was also the case for the staff that worked there.

Parking is right outside the front of the hotel (which to be honest wasnt very easy to get a decent space) but the hotel benefits from being a 100 metre walk to the town centre and pier with its good range of shops and restaurants. It was all very convenient .

The room itself was very clean, especially the bathroom and had all the little extras: sewing kit, chocolates, biscuits, tissues together with tea and coffee making facilities which made us feel very at home. The downside was that the blankets on the bed were too heavy and uncomfortable.

The breakfast we had there was Ok, nothing special. It consisted of things like cereals, toast, cooked breakfast (all cooked by the male owner), Fruit, tea and coffee.

Overall We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely reccomend Chudleigh to anyone who was staying in the area

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Having read other reviews we were not disappointed with our stay at the Chudleigh. The hotel is very worthy of its 4 star rating and from the moment we walked through the door we felt so at home. The owners are really lovely people and cannot do enough for you to ensure you have a pleasurable stay. Our room (room 12 on ground floor) was beautifully furnished and decorated and benefited from a large bathroom which was spotlessly clean, the beds are so comfortable ensuring a great nights sleep and you can tell the owners take a great deal of pride in the quality of their rooms. I can honestly say that the room was far nicer than others i have stopped in across the country where i have paid considerably more. Breakfast is excellent with a large choice of cereals, croissants, fruit etc and the full english breakfast is of the highest quality with a great range of ingredients to choose from. Parking is right outside the front of the hotel and the hotel benefits from being a 100 metre walk to the town centre and pier with its good range of shops and bars.Having stopped at several other hotels in clacton before we found this little gem, i can honestly say that we will not be stopping anywhere apart from the Chudleigh on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chudleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chudleigh

Address: 13 Agate Rd, Marine Parade West, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chudleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chudleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chudleigh Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chudleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.