We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much needed rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chudleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chudleigh to your Saves list
Chudleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Agate Rd, Marine Parade West, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Much needed rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

What can I say we have had three nights at the Chudleigh and I can say that it's one off the nicest and clean Hotels I have stayed in. The Breakfast was first class, the bacon lovely. Nothing was to much trouble for Carol and Peter and there team. I would recommend this Hotel.If we are down this way again would love to say again. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: We had room 14 very quite and on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
91
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I recently stayed at the Chudleigh for a weekend away in Clacton. I absolutely loved the Chudleigh. I was upgraded to a double room for free, whilst my friend had a single room. Both rooms were spotless. The beds were extremely comfortable (great matresses and pillows). Both rooms had ensuite facilities, which were also spotless and up-to-date. The towels in the bathroom were great. Uusally you get a rock hard towel which is the size of a teatowel, but not at the Chudleigh. The towels were thick, soft and huge. Location wise it is perfect - bang in the middle of everything. Carol was ever so friendly and helpful. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay at Chudleigh and would love to come back for longer. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, from rearranging rooms to allow my disabled mother a ground floor room to hastily re-allocating a room so my 6'5" son could have a double bed. At the end of our stay they rang to tell us we had left a mirror behind.
The hotel has character which is so refreshing in these days of hotel chains. The rooms are charming and reminded me of hotels I have stayed in in France, with luxurious beds and bedlinens - it was like sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom was equally luxurious with a 'film star' mirror and the biggest, thickest towels I have ever seen.
Breakfast was exactly as we each wanted it, served in a bright and attractive dining room. There was parking in front of the hotel, with the pier almost at one end of the street and high street shops at the other, yet the road and hotel were both quiet.
Highly recommended - I wish more hotels were like this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

wonderful little b@b- carol and peter were down to earth and loved to chat, room was excellent
with a clean and tidy bathroom and brilliant decor, plenty of tea and coffee provided.
the towels lovely and thick and peter does a good breakfast in the morning that's why ken dodd stays here year after year (how tickled he must be !!!) the only down side is where it is situated, opposite a garage and not the best of roads BUT !! everything makes up for it, with beautiful hanging baskets and pots , karen middlesex

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hucknall, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

First time staying in clacton, we stopped at the chudleigh. Fantastic place!!! Very friendly people!!! Nothing is too much trouble!! Rooms are brilliant !!! Its proper home from home!!! Free internet an all home comforts in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times now with our dog, and we absolutely love it. All the other reviews are spot on, its absolutely as good as they say it is. We love the warm welcome, the really comfortable beds with lovely high thread count linen, great bathroom, and fabulous top quality food at breakfast.
Well done all at The Chudleigh!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Well - Carol and Peter were excellent hosts - if Ken Dodd thinks so - that's fine by us as he has stayed and I'm sure always will be a guest. Clean and tidy with little extra touches in room i.e. water, shoe shine kit etc. etc. Breakfast super - best bacon (and I am from area of famous Blythburgh Pigs) so I know what I am talking about.

Do stay with The Chudleigh and enjoy it as much as we did.

Thank you Carol and Peter
"Hares raising our glass to you"
You will know what this is!!

Love Janet and Graham Robins and Carol and John Leech

Room Tip: If you go to Clacton for any reason and require a few nights good guest house accommodation - The Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chudleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chudleigh

Address: 13 Agate Rd, Marine Parade West, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chudleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chudleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chudleigh Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chudleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.