We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chudleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chudleigh to your Saves list
Chudleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Agate Rd, Marine Parade West, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We wanted to go to Clacton to see the 21st Air Show but as it was over Two days we decided to book somewhere to stay for two nights. I looked on Tripadvisor for the best places to stay and the Chudleigh came up with fantastic reviews, so we booked it online. On arrival it was like being greeted by family the couple were absolutely charming. The room was exceptionally clean, spotless to be exact. The breakfast was amazing all cooked by the owner Peter, to absolute perfection and lots of it too. It was well worth the price we paid for what we got and we would definitely go back again and stay at the Chudleigh next time we visit friends. We loved it!

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter really as the whole place is full of love and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
99
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are after a warm, friendly welcome, a good nights sleep and an amazing cooked to order breakfast then this is the place you are looking for! This is the third time this year I have been to this establishment with my portugesse friends, they love it as much as me. The hotel is very clean and in a fantastic location, close to the beach in a quiet street. They are also very close to the town centre and local restaurants. I'm looking forward to a visit in the near future

Trudy, Paula and Gustavo

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Chudleigh for two nights and enjoyed it so much we tried to extend our stay. Peter and Carol are very friendly and welcoming and provide a great service to all guests. The family room was sufficent for our needs and very clean. The breakfast was served by friendly staff and very delicious. The hotel stands out in the road with its beautiful flowers and it has off street parking free of charge. Another bonus is the free wi-fi. The Chudleigh is in a fantastic location off Main Parade, 2 mins from the beach and 1 min from the town. Definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor family room only has a shower and no bath for younger children. The superior family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night in august, lovely homely place to stay, very clean and well presented. Well located and close to seafront with of street parking, Owners are perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome, Rooms are a good size with a great size bathroom, breakfast was made to order and was amazing, well cooked and quick, would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We travelled to Clacton from Derbyshire to view a campervan and put an overnight bay in the car just in case. At 6p.m we decided to stay down but we had our two little Scotties with us so needed to find somewhere that would allow pets ( not easy ). After several phone calls to various hotels we met Peter outside the Chudleigh. He asked Carol if she would allow the dogs in and she kindly said yes. This is a lovely B & B. our room was very large with a comfy bed and everything you need. The bathroom was spotless and again everything supplied including the biggest towels I have ever seen. Breakfast was excellant and the quality of the food was 1st class with fast friendly service. We parked right outside and the beach was just over the road. I would stay here again and would highly recommend this B&B. Carol and Peter are the perfect hosts and we were very lucky to the Chudleigh. Thanks for a lovelt last minute stay. Karen, Mark and teddy and maisie.

Room Tip: If you have dogs then Carol would put you in a ground floor room. We had room 3 which was on the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. We parked outside and had a warm welcome from Carol and Peter. The style was dated but the room was large, bright and very clean with a good choice of tea and coffee in the room. The bed was large and comfortable. The breakfast is also large and really nice - your order is taken by friendly, helpful staff and cooked to order. It's only 2 minutes to the beach with restaurants and shops close by. We would recommend The Chudleigh to friends and family, and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a lovely place to stay, Carol and Peter and their staff made us all feel most welcome. The accommodation is very clean and well presented. We stayed for two nights in the ground floor family room. We found the beds to be most comfortable with fresh linen and towels as you require. Carol and Peter are most accommodating. Breakfast was of an exceptionally high standard and found that we didn't need to eat until the evening, where there are plenty of bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. The accommodation is a very short walk from the town centre and the pier which unfortunately is in rather desperate need of renovation which would greatly improve the aesthetics of Clacton's sea front. The rest of Clacton is quite beautiful with it's stunning gardens, modern sculptures along the promenade. The beach we found to be reasonably clean and all the vendors to be cheerful and very helpful. Highly recommend for short break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chudleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chudleigh

Address: 13 Agate Rd, Marine Parade West, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chudleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chudleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chudleigh Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chudleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.