We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for making my dad's stay so enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chudleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chudleigh to your Saves list
Chudleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Agate Rd, Marine Parade West, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Hertford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thank you for making my dad's stay so enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I booked the Chudleigh for a short break for my dad and brother, they had an excellent time from start to finish at the Chudleigh, and were delighted with everything. The rooms were spotlessly clean and Carol and Peter were excellent hosts to them. They particularly enjoyed the well-cooked, plentiful and very tasty breakfasts! And the sun shone!

Thank you very much, the Chudleigh is highly recommended, by far the best in Clacton.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
91
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just got back from staying at Chudleigh i would recommended this Bed and Breakfast to anyone. The owners are extremely friendly and hospitable . We stayed in room 3 which was spotlessly clean and i have to say has one of the best beds i have ever slept in.The decor is lovely neutral colours with matching complimenting furniture. The range of complimentary goods would put most 5 star hotels to shame. The breakfast was really 1st class offering a varied menu and catering to all needs. The front of the hotel is very beautiful with lots of pots and hanging baskets really making it stand out in the street. We will defiantly stay there again as i feel it offers terrific value for money. We came home feeling very relaxed after our stay. All in all this is a warm and welcoming establishment offering a home from home feel you dont always get from bigger hotels. So if your looking for a superb value for money place to stay while in Clacton then this should be top of your list.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed one night at the Chudleigh. The owners were friendly and offered a big room, with a vast and possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. My partner wrote about the experience in his blog http://thejoyofessex.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/tendring-is-night.html

Room Tip: Room 10 had a shower and loo; vast double bed; single bed and another room with sink and bath. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My mother and I stayed over the Jubilee weekend. We were very impressed with room 12 (ground floor).As my mother was taken ill during the night Carol and Peter organised help for her. For which both of us are very thankful. As she had to be kept in hospital for a couple nights Carol and Peter were very good about me staying an extra night in a different room. So I can honestly say that the rooms are very good from the bottom to the top of the house. Everything is clean,tidy and of very high quality. Breakfast was very filling and that was only eating half of what was on offer. Would reccommend the Chudleigh as an excellent pace to stay on all levels.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems book room 12 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Great people big warm beds, excellent food, well presented and cooked. A little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We just stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends in Clacton, but will definitely be making this our 'regular'. The room was spotless and well equipped, and the bed was so supremely comfortable that we both felt that we'd had one of the best night's sleep for years. Breakfast was generous, varied and delivered with attentive and friendly service. All in all, a great discovery and we will be back.

Room Tip: Seems that most rooms can be doubles or twins, as required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

It is so refreshing to spend time in a hotel that values it customers, I have not experienced such attention to detail while staying in a hotel for many a year. Peter and Carol clearly take pride in their business and understand that it's the little touches that make the difference, like the satin trimmed bedding the massive soft fluffy bath towels, ample tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc as as a proper hairdrier. Breakfast was a pure delight, several courses with plenty of choice, topped off with service with a smile from staff. The hotel is exceptional value for money, I have paid double per night with half the value in other hotels this year. Any hoteliers reading this review sit up and take note that this is how it should be done!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chudleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chudleigh

Address: 13 Agate Rd, Marine Parade West, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chudleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chudleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chudleigh Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chudleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.