We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, conveniently situated place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beeches

The Beeches
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Beeches to your Saves list
The Beeches
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-14 Ellis Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A comfortable, conveniently situated place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We found our stay at The Beeches to be extremely comfortable. The accommodation was very clean and ideally situated for all the local amenities and close to the sea. Liz and Barry are extremely friendly and accommodating and our breakfast was very good. We definitely hope to visit again and would not hesitate to recommend The Beeches to others as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a double room at the back of the building which was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    48
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
67
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised when turning up at the Beeches .Barry was very friendly and an accommodating host thanks Barry ! Me and my 9 year old son travelled down from bradford to visit relatives and after an exhausting drive we were put into a room with one double bed and one single bed and an en suite shower.The room was very clean and a very welcoming sight after our long journey ! In the morning we were served a good old fashioned English brekkie which was lovely thanks .we star here two nights and can honestly what a lovely place it was ! Nice friendly hosts good food and clean comfy rooms what more could you ask for I know will defo stay again in the future thanks guys

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I needed to stop in or near Colchester on a Sunday night for a Monday morning meeting, and having called on the Saturday I was offered an ensuite double room at single occupancy rate. Definitely call up to book, the online pricing offered by booking.com and the rest is not competitive.

The room was ideal for what I needed, and Liz and Barry were very accommodating - I turned up while they were out, but they had made provision for me to get in to my room, and a quick phone call sorted everything. Barry even gave me some tips on local restaurants, which turned out to be right on the money.

My only real gripe would be that I needed to work online, and apparently guest wi-fi is offered but I couldn't find details of the access key. This wasn't a problem since the local Wetherspoon's had free wi-fi, and it certainly didn't spoil my stay. Breakfast was excellent, and my overall experience was very good. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I would definitely visit again! The room was spacious and had everything you would need. Beds were very comfy and warm. The owners were lovely. The only thing I would say on a downside was that the wifi didn't work very well in our room but thats it. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Have stayed at the Beeches a number of times when visiting family in the area; Liz and Barry have always been friendly, and the place is always immaculately turned out. Rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed, and wifi is also good (always a bonus!). Breakfast is always well cooked and portioned too. All in all, I can't find anything to pick holes in, you must stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very warm and sincere welcome from Barry when we arrived, he showed us to our rooms and gave us a spare heater for our room in case we needed it which was very kind.
I stayed at this hotel for one night, along with my family. All together we had between us 4 rooms. My sisters & myself had a room with a double bed, and a single bed. The room was very clean and homely, the beds where really comfortable, and the bedding was of good quality. Each had a spare blanket on our beds too. Plenty of hanging and drawer space in the room. The bathroom is small but all you need really for your stay, everything was clean, good working shower & clean towels. We also had a TV in our room, along with tea & coffee making facilities, if we needed more milk/coffee etc. we just had to ask and was given some straight away!
My other family members had double rooms, and all where very happy with them!
In the morning we had breakfast, which was really nice, we all opted for the full English, but there was also cereal, toast with preserves, or you could have just a bacon/sausage sandwich or something smaller if you wanted. Also plenty of fruit juice & tea and coffee which we where offered more of throughout our breakfast along with more toast as well.
I couldn't fault this B&B, everything was perfect, and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Liz and Barry gave me a great welcome and were extremely friendly, I found The Beeches nice and clean nice and warm and a nice breakfast in the morning.
I am a work away contractor and The Beeches is one of the best B&B's I have stayed in, I would recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Address: 12-14 Ellis Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#5 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run guest-house. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Minutes from the centre of Clacton and the sea-front. 3-star AA rating. Excellent breakfast made with locally sourced produce. Please ring for further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beeches Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beeches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.