We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend, we found the hotel, clean, tidy and the staff friendly. The food was excellent and we are looking forward to staying there again this year. Unfortunately last year we were not lucky enough to get a room. I am hoping that this year we will get a sea view...
The only problem is a small car park, need to get in early to get a space.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    34
    26
    44
See reviews for
33
70
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Ridiculous, waste of time, miserable, dated, horrible trip. Just about sums the trip up. Glad i wern't traverling alone, thats all i have to say. If it wern't for the laughs with my friends i think i'd have gone insane!!!! When checking into the hotel, was spoken to by a miserable white haired hobet women. She was very rude the way she spoke and came across very patronising.Im sorry, but if you have no people skills - well of this day and age anyway, i don't think you should be working as a receptionist in a hotel. Food was ok, not amazing but not terrible. When asked for extra toast in the morning it seemed a bit of an effort so i said not to bother. Room was very very dated. Carpet doesn;t need a good scrub, it needs a good rip out! Wallpaper very old fashioned but not a prolem. Walls so thin that you can hear everything next door. Floor boards very creaky, but it's an old hotel so can't be helped. Alot alot of stairs to go up, NO LIFT!!!! Corridoors extreamly dark come across quite creepy actually. They need some nice big sky windows in the corridoors to brighten them up a bit. Parking at rear of hotel, but not really worth mentioning as its more like a drive way then a car park. So much needs to be done to this hotel that they may aswell rip it all out and start a fresh. Cleanliness of room was better than expected but its clear there is no window cleaner as windows are covered in bird droppings! Would not reccomend to a friend, would complain about reception though, i think they need to get rid of old staff and start advertising some job vaccancies.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed one week in a bright and spacious twin room overlooking the sea. The room had a great view of the sea, the sheets and towels were spotless, and every morning we woke up to a full English breakfast with toast, cereals, fruit, etc. Hotel staff were all warm, helpful and friendly - everything you could want really to make your stay pleasant. The bar was also bright with a great view of the sea again! But we could do more with more options for vegetarians for breakfast. Overall a warm and memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Had visited this hotel before and as I was visiting someone in Clacton Hospital this was the ideal place to stay again. The rooms are large and clean and the one I had booked had a sea view, could even see the pier. The food and service was excellent, best duck I have tasted for a long time. All in all you get good value for money, you are right on the sea front and the town is only a few minutes walk away. What more could you wish for. Shall definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Previous reviews of this hotel have veered from the extremes of glowing tributes, through to criticisim. So I'm going to be objective. The hotel has a great location on the sea front and near the restaurants, pier and arcades. The room was very clean, everything worked and the shower easy to use, with loads of hot water. The staff were friendly, the restaurant and bar, large and well laid out and the food well presented. There is a small carpark that can probably handle 10 cars max and you need to leave your keys at reception.

On the downside, we travel a lot and the superior double room we occupied, was well over priced when compared to better facilities at other hotels. The ensuite was clean and everything was easy to use, but it was so small. For larger or slightly disabled guests, it would have been a big problem. The rooms kind of had a twee feel about them. They would probably have been very good 30 or 40 years ago, but these days many hotels offer better, sometimes for less.

It made me wonder what the standard rooms must have been like. However that aside, the real problem was the noise at night. You expect a front room to be a tad noisier, but when the local bars turned out in the earlier hours, the hotel's lack of double glazing meant you could hear every laugh and shout. Still in the early hours, the front door bell was ringing and before 7.00am on a Sunday morning the foreign family in an adjacent room, seemed to be going through such a Frank Spencer routine, that I leapt out of bed and opened the door, to invite them to shut up. When they did it a second time, my partner had to restrain me. The lack of value for money and the noise are the two reasons, we will not be returning to this hotel. However with investment and a new customer service approach, it could be a real diamond. It probably needs a visit from Duncan Balantyne as the claim that this was "the place to stay in Clacton" made one wonder what the other hotels must be like. I think a glance through the brochure probably underlined how tired this place really was, it's forthcoming events page, all dating from 2008.

When we first arrived there seemed to be a Max Bygraves style sing along going on in the bar and we thought "Faulty Towers", but this must have been a special event and things got better. We decided to eat in house as the weather outside reverted to late October and discovered when most restaurants were just opening, the hotel restaurant was just closing, 7.45pm deemed as being "rather late". Still impecable service and really nice chow, even if the menu was limited, it was very good. Buzzing it was not, with just two couples in a restaurant that could probably handle 80 people. This amused us as it reminded us of a hotel elsewhere that warned punters to "book early to avoid disapointment" - on arrival we were the only couple, or perhaps, mugs, there. We had a nice quiet drink at the bar, again, really friendly, but as the hotel brochure rather strangely notes "bar open until 11.00pm or earlier". This reminded us of laugh we had at John Fowlers where the compares 8 till late, equated to more or less normal bar hours.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed one night to attend a funeral next day in a light and spacious twin room overlooking the sea. The room had been recently decorated, the sheets and towels were spotless, and next morning a full English breakfast with toast, cereals, fruit, etc. Hotel staff were all helpful and friendly - everything you could want really. However, the partition wall could do with some soundproofing since the couple in the next room continued to talk loudly until one o'clock in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Normally, a business trip means an anonymous room complete with souless atmosphere. Not here. An unpretentious, welcoming and friendly hotel that is clean and comfortable, has all the facilities you need, a commanding view of the coast, a varied menu and, most importantly, exceptional service. Nothing is too much trouble for the proprietor and his staff. A pleasant and memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: 27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run Seafront Hotel; Ideally located close to the Pier, Town Centre and all available attractions. 30 bedrooms, many with sea views. All rooms have en-suite facilities; colour Satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, hair dryer and direct dial telephone. All telephones have sockets for laptops to connect to the internet. An attractive licensed bar and lounge. Open to non-residents although monitored for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.