We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
UK
1 review
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We were made to feel very welcome, as soon as we arrived, the staff were brilliant, the honeymoon room was lovley, very clean, the view was also fantastic, we had drinks in the bar in the evening and it was a very nice place to be, I understand the owners are to install flat screen tv`s and are doing some updating. But hey I dont know what some of the other people are moaning about, I wouldn`t hesitate one moment to return to this hotel, ohhh and the food ...what can i say every mouthfull was as tasty as the last.
my opinon if you want more than perfect go to the Hilton.
If you want a nice hotel with nice people go to the Esplanade Hotel..
Mr & mrs hammond

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    32
    26
    43
See reviews for
33
66
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We visit Clacton often and always use the Esplanade. The proprietor and staff are always really friendly and helpful. As you would expect from a sea front hotel in an amalgamation of original buildings, the rooms come in all shapes and sizes but are reasonably and proportionally priced, with rooms at the back being cheaper than those with sea view. I really like the fact that all the rooms have a mini fridge as well as tea and coffee making facilities so it's possible to have morning tea with real milk. Breakfasts are as substantial or as light as you wish, but served from 8am, so it's quite hard if you need an early start, although we've managed to negotiate a 7.45 breakfast on occasion. The free secure wifi throughout the hotel is an enormous plus point, but beware if you have a Vodafone mobile, signal is almost non-existant in the hotel and a short walk along the promenade is usually required to guarantee good reception. There is a nice bar and the restaurant serves traditional English food, but the Esplanade is only a 5 minute walk from lots of other restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I am very suprised by comments in other reviews, I found the staff to be helpful Barbara in particular made me so welcome, even though she was busy getting ready for the spring season,which is always a bonus when you are a woman travelling alone ,I had a nice clean room with a sea view , the bathrooms are small but clean and adequate,I ate in the restaurant and the food was good, I would certainly stay there again if I have to return to Clacton,at least I know I would recieve a warm welcome

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I spend 5 nights per week in hotels around the country and must say that the Esplanade is up there amoung the best, certainly better than their two star rating. I used to stay at the Best Western but will be staying at the Espalanade everytime I come to town. The rooms are airy, the food hot and prepared extremely well. The proprietor is extremely friendly as well as the staff. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, my colleagues also concur.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

This hotel simply shouldnt exist in this day and age. It is a relic from 1970s. I am reminded of Butlins at its worst.

The check in is cold and unwelcoming its as if they are doing you a favour but worst are the rooms - dirty, dusty , furnished by MFI or charity shops 20 years ago and about as basic as basic gets. What is beyond belief is you get nicely refolded dirty towels used by previous guests that are still damp and smelly and the inclusive toiletries run to a bar of lux soap sawn down the middle with a kitchen knife. The showers are a mere trickle of luke warm water and beds are smelly and ancient.

The breakfast is so poor its inedible.

The place smells strongly of unkempt and dirty finishes and needs a complete refurb. Staff need to recognise they should be customer focussed which they are so far from understanding its laughable and management need to recognise their need to invest and improve

Please please do not stay here - it will only encourage their belief that this awful service and accommodation is acceptable

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Needs a total refurb unless you like PINK.Window padded to stop draught-Shower cubicle manky curtain a joke and no room to turn.Floorboards creaky creaky creaky.
Not going to run it down too much I just wouildn't stay there again and would not recommend it at all. Food good staff O.K.Harry ( believe his the owner??) runs horse racing afternoon . It cost £1 per bet and if your horse come FIRST you get £2 BACK if your horse come second you get THE £1 YOU PUT ON BACK if your horse comes third you get 50p back. Dont go Dont bet go somwhere else.If you have booked cancel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Problems at check in, new card machine receptionist couldn't work it. She was the only member of staff on duty and was doing afternoon tea for a party. Room clean and lovely views, we booked a premier sea view one. Bathroom was like a cupboard but was clean. First night had to eat at 6p.m. Rotary always there on Wednesdays. Karaoke in the function room, very noisy. Back to bedroom after dinner to have some wonderful water features in our room from leaking ceiling. Owner said it was bay window and would sort it and promptly provided buckets to catch the water! We asked to be moved and were up another flight of stairs to another room. Rain had stopped next day and we moved back into original room. Couldn't have dinner that night in dining room as they had a wedding on. They put all the residents in the bar for meals and had to eat at a specific time again and it was the bar that was being used for the wedding very noisy and very drafty next to main door. Noise again late at night. Hotel broken into that night police about next morning. The breakfasts were awful on 2 mornings as they had a new chef and he had never cooked breakfasts before!! The evening meals were fine. The staff were very pleasant and tried to do their best but were hampered by the owner who was very arrogant to everyone and did not take criticism at all. He was always correct and he didn't listen to anyone's opinion except his own. We did not get an apology from him for all the troubles we endured and he did not offer any compensation. We asked for a discount when settling the bill and were given a nominal sum. In all it could be a magnificent place when it has a new owner and is brought up to date. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at the present time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: 27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run Seafront Hotel; Ideally located close to the Pier, Town Centre and all available attractions. 30 bedrooms, many with sea views. All rooms have en-suite facilities; colour Satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, hair dryer and direct dial telephone. All telephones have sockets for laptops to connect to the internet. An attractive licensed bar and lounge. Open to non-residents although monitored for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.