We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
Esplanade Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Norfolk
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Problems at check in, new card machine receptionist couldn't work it. She was the only member of staff on duty and was doing afternoon tea for a party. Room clean and lovely views, we booked a premier sea view one. Bathroom was like a cupboard but was clean. First night had to eat at 6p.m. Rotary always there on Wednesdays. Karaoke in the function room, very noisy. Back to bedroom after dinner to have some wonderful water features in our room from leaking ceiling. Owner said it was bay window and would sort it and promptly provided buckets to catch the water! We asked to be moved and were up another flight of stairs to another room. Rain had stopped next day and we moved back into original room. Couldn't have dinner that night in dining room as they had a wedding on. They put all the residents in the bar for meals and had to eat at a specific time again and it was the bar that was being used for the wedding very noisy and very drafty next to main door. Noise again late at night. Hotel broken into that night police about next morning. The breakfasts were awful on 2 mornings as they had a new chef and he had never cooked breakfasts before!! The evening meals were fine. The staff were very pleasant and tried to do their best but were hampered by the owner who was very arrogant to everyone and did not take criticism at all. He was always correct and he didn't listen to anyone's opinion except his own. We did not get an apology from him for all the troubles we endured and he did not offer any compensation. We asked for a discount when settling the bill and were given a nominal sum. In all it could be a magnificent place when it has a new owner and is brought up to date. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at the present time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    32
    26
    43
See reviews for
33
66
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed here because of a family party 10 minutes away but would rather have slept on the pier, booked family room for £89 for one night and thought someone having a laugh, carpets dirty ( found dry roasted nuts on floor from previous people, maybe from long time ago) bathroom in bad state, toilet seat falling off, shower shabby and too hot or too cold. food was ok and we found service not too bad, spoke with other people staying here and we all agreed that we couldnt wait to leave, pictures of rooms on internet misleading as what we ended up in was no comparison. Never ever going back. Be warned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

if you like your hotels HOT, this is for you... all the radiators were on FULL BLAST, despite it being a warm autumn day... sheets were clean and fresh smelling and sea view was as described!

Down points...
1. the heating. i couldn't breathe it was so hot
2. the bathroom in room 12 (i would describe it as bijou) has mould all over the shower cubicle, unpleasantly!
3. a relaxing evening in the bar was impossible as X Factor was on, very loudly...
4. breakfast... YUK. a strange taste to all cooked items and insipid coffee
5. the car parking situation... 4 spaces for entire hotel so you HAVE to leave your key (it is a requirement) so they can move your car. we left during breakfast and another guest (mid mouthful) had to come and move his car!
6. staff not all that helpful... one did smile, but i think she'd had a funny thought, not because she imagined it to be good customer service...
7. the rudely worded laminated pages (and those in the 'welcome' pack) instructing you to forgive the tardiness of dinner if they have a wedding on, or that they will shut the bar at sometime between 10 and 11, or not!

a strange experience really, neither really bad, or in fact good! Just an ok place to plonk your head for one night... but, i won't be going again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grays essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 day stay at The Esplanadfe Hotel where we had no bad experiances at all in fact just the opposite our room was clean and comfortable with sea view staff were very efficien and at the same friendly food was excellent overall we would rate this hotel way above it's 2 Star rating and will not hesitate staying there again we would also recomend this Hotel to anybody it was a pleasure to stay there Margaret & Graham

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

My wife was feeling very down, so I decided to give her a weekend in clacton, we have never stayed before, We found the Esplanade hotel on the internet, it looked quite nice and I booked a saturday night double room on the ground floor as my wife is disabled.
We were told the hotel had disabled access in ground floor rooms.
We were given room 20, Oh! my god what a disaster, this room is not fit for man or beast,
It was absolutely filthy, the carpet was full of stains, the walls had all chips over them, the headboards were absolutely filthy, and the brown finger marks above the bed left a lot to be desired. My wife was so tired we stayed, but only by putting towels over the headboard and sleeping fully clothed on top of the bed. We fully expected to see Basil Fawlty and manuel appear at any moment. This room was certainly not diasabled friendly. I won't talk about the on-suite facilty, the shower curtain says it all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We booked our stay at the Esplanade via the internet, however upon arrival we were told all rooms were taken even though on the site there were 2 doubles available. Shortly after making the booking we received confirmation with a booking reference. We had travelled some distance and were more than a little disappointed to be told this. We asked the lady on reception how the site could have allowed us to book this room and she didnt understand, i wonder if the room had been given to passing trade without first checking the site. Our overall impression of the social areas was not good and as others in reviews have pointed out the hotel looks in need of updating.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: 27-29 Marine Parade East, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run Seafront Hotel; Ideally located close to the Pier, Town Centre and all available attractions. 30 bedrooms, many with sea views. All rooms have en-suite facilities; colour Satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, hair dryer and direct dial telephone. All telephones have sockets for laptops to connect to the internet. An attractive licensed bar and lounge. Open to non-residents although monitored for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.