We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Portions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Horse - Roaring Donkey

Hungry Horse - Roaring Donkey
316 Holland Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6PD, England
01255 812 104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 132 Restaurants in Clacton-on-Sea
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
clacton on sea
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Large Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Their menu is as big as their portions. Do not have lunch before going there in the evening.Large and varied selection. Staff really good (especially Sarah behind the bar).
This is very popular with holidaymakers in the summer. Would definately recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    17
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be.When i last went there last it was not clean.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Food spillage on the floor which was on the walkway to the tables.So the waitresses were ignoring it. I ended up wiping it with with a napkin as i thought it was dangerous.One could have slipped and hurt thieselves.Have not been back since.Might be better now.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South east UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great value, great for kids, reasonable food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I live nearby and it's my local so I'm probably biased. However it's always busy which speaks for itself, has a great garden area with plenty to keep the kids happy, and above all its great value, which is probably why it's always busy when others in the area are empty- even in mid winter. If you want fine dining try somewhere else but if you want good pub style food at a great price (2 x big plate Sunday lunch and a bottle of wine for under £20) then this is the place for you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“club night out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very friendly place, ideal for families. food though left a lot to be desired.
i suppose this is a case of you only get waht you pay for

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“family pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

busy family pub, good reasonably priced food and in the summer a good outdoor garden area, my family spend most sundays there with friends

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Horse - Roaring Donkey also viewed

Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
Clacton-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Hungry Horse - Roaring Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Horse - Roaring Donkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.