We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melrose Hotel

Melrose Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Melrose Hotel to your Saves list
Melrose Hotel
53 Marine Parade, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Clacton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
oxfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hotel on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is in need of a bit of TLC. However the welcome given to us by the hosts (and their dog) made the stay very enjoyable. The room was clean and the bedding fresh and aired. Beds comfortable with tea and coffee in the room. I arrived with my daughter and 3 grandchildren. We hired the family room. This was excellent value at only £70.00 per night for the 5 of us including breakfast. Although we did not use the bar facilities ourselves there were people enjoying themselves in there. The hotel is in a perfect situation for Pier. Less than 5 mins walk. This Hotel was perfectly adequate for our stay. And the children loved the dog - who was extremely well behaved!

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of hotel - no-one had to pass us:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
6
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very comfortable beds, very spacious rooms with tea and coffee making facilities and very good sized flat screen TV with a DVD player attached and all freeview channels.

The rooms are kept to a very high standard of cleanliness and the beds are made each morning and rooms cleaned although we had a room without en-suite as requested at the time, there was a toilet very conveniently located right outside the bedroom door and a shower room and toilet straight opposite on the same floor so it was just as good as having an en-suite which was also cleaned daily and kept to a very clean standard and great water pressure and always nice and warm water no matter how busy the hotel was.

Breakfast was excellent value for the price of the room, where you can first pour yourself and orange juice and choose from a very large selection of cereals and also yoghurts.
Once seated you would then greeted by a friendly well mannered member of staff who would then offer you tea or coffee, toast and what you would like for a full fry up, which again had loads of options such as boiled/scrambled or fried eggs with still more options upon request.

The Hotel also felt very safe and secure as each room had your own front door and room key and the front door was locked at all times for security.

As for the owners, john and pia you couldn't wish for better more friendly hosts who will always go out of there way to make you feel comfortable and nothing was ever to much trouble as well as a very good priced well stocked bar which also sold bar snacks etc.
The bar area was very spacious with nice comfy leather seats, a very big flat screen TV with a very large selection of DVD's and also a games console which we also had loads of fun playing with John, pia and other guests.
There was also a pool table and a dart board yo keep your occupied in the evenings and again which was very cheap at just 40p per game of pool.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone as the place caters for all, including extra early breakfasts for people who are down to work or have a busy schedule, nothing ever seems to be to much trouble and it has a lovely relaxed family feel about the place so you can always feel relaxed and very comfortable.

So thank you John, Pia and all the other very helpful and friendly staff and we will certainly be coming back for many more return visits in the future as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very comfortable bed,TV,tea and coffee making facilities in room. Very friendly hosts. Excellent full English breakfast was served early for me as requested. Shower area could have been cleaner but for £25 for a single it was great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

70's furniture, thin walls, poor facilities, naff decor. Its not truly awful, but rubbish for the money - its overpriced by about a tenner. Only as a last resort stay here, there's much better competition nearby

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLACTON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

the Melrose Hotel in Clacton is a family run business of over 30 years, many of its guests have been coming here for many years due to the facts that follow, the rooms are cleaned every day the bedding which is always clean and fresh is changed on a regular basis, the hotel is child and dog friendly.
The couple who run the business are polite and very helpful as for the toilets they are cleaned every day to a good standard, its obvious that that some people get a buzz from slating very hard working business people just because they have nothing better to do with their time, I can assure any one reading this that there is no bed bug infestation. you will have to go a long way to find a more dedicated couple who look after their guests as well as the couple running the Melrose, they recieve many thank you cards and just as many rebookings due to this fact. If you are considering a visit to Clacton on Sea then you may wish to check out the hotel for yourself it has a nice atmosphere and there is a bar in the communal area with a pool table and dart board
and in the morning a good breakfast is on offer, so here is wishing the owners of the Melrose Hotel a happy future and continuing success.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This has to be the nastiest hotel I have ever stayed in, whoever gave this hotel a four star rating is obviously deluded.
The two ladies who do the breakfast service and double up as the cleaners are pleasant enough however I found the couple who run the place a bit stand offish and the whole decor looks like something out of a very bad 70s sitcom.

The shower and the toilets are disgusting, the communal shower is unsafe how somebody has not fallen and broken their neck or worse and the other guests did not bother to wash away the sand from the pebble beach nearby. The guests smoke and spit in the communal toilet sink even though it states on their website it is non smoking and on more than one occasion soiled tissue greeted me when I went to use the toilet.

The bedroom was fair in presentation the flat duvet and pillows were so uncomfortable, it would
have been bearable if not for the bed bug infestation at first I thought it was fleas from the manky
dog they have, it was not until I returned home and went to the doctor did I realise it was from the
Nasty, unhygienic disgusting duvet, pillows, bed sheet and mattress!

I would never in a million years stay here again, I would never recommend this place to any sane living person and anyone who wishes to do so after reading this review do so at your own peril!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

i stayed her for a week while doing an intensive driving course, i had a single room which had good storage space for clothes and personal items, the shower was on the landing and i never had to wait for it despite the hotel appearing to be quite full. Warm with good water pressure.
Breakfast was anything you wanted really, with a great selection of cereal :)
Could hear the couple in the room next door talking/debating into the early hours each night so not great soundproofing but it didnt bother me, was quite amusing actually! Other than that it was quiet.
The owner was great, always available to help and friendly but not interfering, just the right amount of attention!
Room cleaned everyday.
It is dated in decor and is not perfect but it doesnt claim to be, it is what it is and i would stay here again.
Perfect location for all local attractions and given own front door key to come and go as you like.
I stayed here alone and felt safe in the hotel and the general area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Hotel

Address: 53 Marine Parade, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Melrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.