We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor House

Grosvenor House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grosvenor House to your Saves list
Grosvenor House
23 Carnarvon Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Clacton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Really great location, worth paying an extra £10 for the kings room, massive king size comfy bed, massive spacious room, shower is massive! Breakfast was good too! The owner was very pleasant. Nice distance from where all the action is, but not too far... Only gripe were thAt the seagulls woke us up!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

BBetween the bed which was like a rack of torture and the screeching of the gulls I had 2 awful nights sleep. My Husband chose this place because breakfast was included. I won't be having breakfast I can't walk and am going home to see my Chiropractor! Mrs Carne

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Friendly owners and easy check in. We had room 3. Clean and comfortable with a new TV. Plenty of tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits. Great breakfast, we had the cooked full English and it was very nice. On the day we checked out we were told we could leave our car in the car park all day if we needed to. We would stay here again for a weekend without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

First impression not ideal. We were met by, I think, the owner. He didn't introduce himself but just gave me a receipt and a doorkey (I had prepaid online) and turned his back. I had to ask where the room was. The room itself was at the rear of the hotel and was very small but spotless and had an excellent bathroom. The bed was extremely soft, which took some getting used to but didn't affect our sleep too much.Hot drink facilities,milk and water were provided in the room, and there was access to an iron and ironing board. In the morning breakfast was served by the same person we had met previously (I still don't know his name, and we never saw any other staff).He seemed more friendly this time and the breakfast was outstanding.Plenty of cereal,yoghurt, fresh fruit, fruit juice and croissants plus a good choice of cooked breakfast. We were offered extra coffee and toast and really couldn't fault the service or quality. The hotel is in a very good central location and we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at The Grosvenor for two nights and were given a very spacious room on the ground floor with homely decoration and furnishings. The weather was a bit chilly but the room was beautifully warm. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided in the room, service was friendly and we had a very good breakfast with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

As a frequently solo traveller I've often wondered if J.K Rowling got the idea for Harry sleeping in a cramped cupboard and being generally mistreated from staying solo at a B&B but The Grosvenor is different and a class above the rest in every aspect.

The choice at breakfast was varied and always cooked to perfection and to order. The room was bright and airy with an easily adjusted radiator, comfortable bed and not a speck of dust in sight. The bathroom was shining and fresh with water that always ran hot.

Despite the fact the seafront is at the end of the road, the pier a few minutes away, the high street behind and the rail station a few minutes behind and to the other side it was surprisingly quiet.
It has many shops, restaurants (of all grades), take-aways and entertainment facilities within a few minutes easy walk .

The owners were warm, friendly and chatty you were never rushed in or out at anytime.

I had my birthday on holiday and was not only wished a Happy Birthday but got a card which is a small but very thoughtful and much welcomed gesture. It makes a change to see genuine good service like this at any price let alone £30 a night.

I'll be going back and have already recommended The Grosvenor to many people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

good value,very clean,really friendly people.excellent breakfast.good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House

Address: 23 Carnarvon Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 6PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Clacton-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Grosvenor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor House Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.