We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Lovely Owners & Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabana Guest House to your Saves list
Cabana Guest House
8 Collingwood Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UL, England (Formerly Cabana Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really Lovely Owners & Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

8 friends and I cycled to the coast and 6 of us had the pleasure of staying at the Cabana. Mark (the owner) was extremely friendly and easy going right from the start and was very accommodating in finding safe storage for our precious bikes. The rooms were clean and well presented and comfortable and had everything we needed. Mark's wife was also very friendly and made us a cracking full English breakfast the next day. Reasonably priced, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent location, very friendly hosts – what's not to like!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
38
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I would have liked to have rated this 3.5 stars - I was really torn between giving this a 3 star or 4 star as I feel that perhaps some of the bad point outweighed the good.

Starting with the bad:
- The room was missing really simple amenities such as a toilet brush, or lock on the bathroom door.
- The blinds were horrendously noisy if the window was left open which left you with 2 options - roast in the heat with the blinds shut, or be disturbed every 2 minutes by the blinds banging together - neither options made for a good nights sleep!
- The blinds provided very little shelter to the morning sun. As soon as the sun began to rise even with the blinds shut, they aren't quite long enough to reach the windowsill meaning that the room is completely illuminated by 5am. Again, if the windows are opening and blowing the blinds about, you're blinded by the morning sun.
- The beds really weren't that comfortable and the pillows weren't great either
- The breakfast was good, although I found the bacon to be absolutely dripping in oil so I requested it be held on the subsequent morning

Now the good points:
- The owners are lovely. Their local knowledge of shops, restaurants etc. is fantastic. They're very approachable and give a lovely warm welcome
- The location is to die for. 20 steps and you're on the beach - we even went for a stroll along the beach before breakfast as it was so close!
- Plenty of free parking around the bowling green


If they installed some decent curtains I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife to be and I had a pleasant stay here.

The room appeared recently refurbed and was adequate for our stay.

Located with 20 steps of the seafront and 5-10 minutes to resturants and supermarkets its a great location for those who wish to visit beautiful clacton.

The breakfast was brilliant! Full english to die for.

The owners were really helpful and have good local knowledge. Very easy to speak to and approachable.

Lots of parking available around the bowling green opposite and next to a Toby Carvery too.

The only things to point out are the room had blinds which if the window is left open (as it catches the heavy morning sun ) they can rattle and wake the lighter sleepers.
Pillows need to be bigger or harder as the mattress is very soft and no loo brush (although the shower had just been fitted so maybe an oversight)

But generally really good and defo worth a visit if you stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the Canaba Guest house.
• The breakfast was great
• Prefect location- very near to the sea
• Lovely family
• The guest house is quite
I recommend the Cabana Guest House for holiday.
Bereket

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at Cabana this weekend 1/6/14. Had a great time catching up,with family! Arrived at Cabana B&B, warm welcome, everywhere was clean and fresh, comfy bed, great breakfast, cooked to order! Fantastic location!
Also an added extra of kindness, our daughter was staying in another B&B with her partner and our eleven week old granddaughter, (as Cabana was fully booked up!) it was a hot morning when we checked out, so didn't want to carry the baby's bottle of milk around, Mark and Catherine very kindly let us store it in their fridge until we set off on our long journey home!
Will be returning and recommending to friends!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely family break at a lovely friendly hotel.clean room.had a bit of leak from pipe under sink but it was fixed straight away. Great service and delicious breakfast. Very helpful hosts.
Great location near the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had a lovely three night stay at The cabana over the bank holiday weekend. Really good breakfast, clean, smart room and spacious. Mark and Catherine are absolutely friendly (Come a guest, leave a friend) and lovely people to have met. just a short walk from the sea front and pier. Lots to do and see, fireworks was great on the sunday at the pier. The price is so reasonable for the stay, good luck to mark and Catherine for future prospects at the cabana, we will certainly be back :)
Thanks very much.
From Rachael and Shane

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Rachael, thank you for such lively comments, it was a pleasure meeting you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabana Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Guest House

Address: 8 Collingwood Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UL, England (Formerly Cabana Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Best Value Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#2 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catherine and Mark run a small family guest house, very close to superb beaches, the town centre and pier. We provide a first class service in a friendly manner with spotlessly clean accommodation. All rooms are en-suite/private bathroom, tea/coffee and LED flat screen TVS with FREEVIEW. WI-FI is available free of charge. Our first class breakfast is included within the price and we provide discounts for longer stays. There is plenty to do within the surrounding area, 2 theatres, beautiful gardens and walks. Amusements galore on the pier, which is being renovated to include a bowling alley, new rides for the adventurous and plenty to eat and drink. Why not come and join us our motto is "Come as a guest, leave as a friend." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabana Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Guest House Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.