We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANDABIDOZEE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana Guest House

Save Saved
You added Cabana Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabana Guest House
8 Collingwood Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UL, England (Formerly Cabana Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“FANDABIDOZEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night, 14th December 2014 with son, his partner and 3 year old grandaughter. Was greeted by Mark when we arrived on the Saturday afternoon, helped with our bags, gave us our keys, no hassle. Mark even allowed my grandson who wasnt even staying at the hotel to use my room to wash and change (another story) - very accomodating. The rooms are spotless, comfortable, nicely decorated, with towels and toiletries, flat screen TV, Tea and coffee, and a smashing vew of the sea (room 4). My sons room was the family room, same quality but larger with extra bed. Breakfast was great, cereals, juice, full english, and our 3 year old was catered for too. All in all a very pleasant stay, in a great location, highly reccomended and will deffo stay here again. Thank u Mark and Cath x Not reccomended for lager louts, hen parties and inconsiderate people x This place is QUALITY x

Room Tip: All good but room 4 has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We pride ourselves on looking after all make up of parties from single women to families. Everyone is important to us, especially the company of your good selves. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
27
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kas, Turkey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had four nights at this B&B and were very happy that we stayed there. It is less than a minute to the seaside and a pleasant walk into the town centre. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the hosts pleasant and helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place for a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We spent sometime talking about Turkey and swapping stories like old friends. Thank you for your lovely words. We both wish well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent just over two weeks with our hosts Mark and Cathy at the Cabana. It was a very difficult time for us, arranging my mother's funeral and attending to all the associated legal and financial matters. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating. They went far beyond the usual provision of a breakfast(excellent!) and a room(quiet and clean) in an attempt to ease our emotional and physical issues. It's a cliche but true that "we arrived as guests but left as friends".

We would recommend the Cabana guest house very highly to all wishing to spend a weekend or longer in Clacton. It proved to be a real home away from home !

Noreen and Brian

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
What a fabulous couple, meeting people like you guys is one of the best perks this business offers. We wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed two nights at this B&B. Nice, clean and comfortable room. Private bathroom across the landing, but this caused me no problems. Good breakfast in the morning that Mark, the proprietor, was happy to provide early for me. The food was freshly cooked and tasted very good. This venue was also very reasonably priced and nice and warm. I am happy to recommend and I would certainly rebook if I work in Clacton again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Lovely people pleasure to meet you and hope to you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in order to attend a family function. We were made to feel very welcome, it was like visiting old friends! The room and facilities were just what you need for a comfortable stay and the breakfast was very enjoyable. It is ideally located to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you guys comments like these make it all our hard work worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Whilst visiting family in Clacton, we stayed at the Cabana for 4 nights. Couldn't find any fault with this lovely guest house .Rooms are spotless . Hot showers.Clean towels every day. The breakfasts are really good . The owners are very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to visiting again very soon, infact, have booked 5 nights in December.

Room Tip: We stayed in room7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, glad all was well with your stay. Look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotley Gate, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good friendly B&B with excellent breakfast and hosts. Only down side which has no reflection on the Cabana or its owners but I feel I must mention it as a warning for other car drivers. Do not park near the Bowling Green car park exit as we have now got a nice £350 bill for the repairs to our car where someone had swung out of the car park, hit our car and then driven off!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Janet I have no words to express my horror at what happened. I wish you had said something as I can assure I would have called the police. I have been in touch with them direct but unless you lodge a complaint yourself, I as a third party can do nothing. Please contact me if you wish to take matters further. In 10 years we have never had this happen and it is particularly galling when you consider the calibre of people that are members there. I will make contact with the bowling club myself to express my disgust. Please contact me when you next pop into Clacton, you can have a free night on us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabana Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Guest House

Address: 8 Collingwood Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UL, England (Formerly Cabana Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Best Value Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#2 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catherine and Mark run a small family guest house, very close to superb beaches, the town centre and pier. We provide a first class service in a friendly manner with spotlessly clean accommodation. All rooms are en-suite/private bathroom, tea/coffee and LED flat screen TVS with FREEVIEW. WI-FI is available free of charge. Our first class breakfast is included within the price and we provide discounts for longer stays. There is plenty to do within the surrounding area, 2 theatres, beautiful gardens and walks. Amusements galore on the pier, which is being renovated to include a bowling alley, new rides for the adventurous and plenty to eat and drink. Why not come and join us our motto is "Come as a guest, leave as a friend." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cabana Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Guest House Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.