We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cabana Guest House to your Saves list
Cabana Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Collingwood Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UL, England (Formerly Cabana Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kas, Turkey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had four nights at this B&B and were very happy that we stayed there. It is less than a minute to the seaside and a pleasant walk into the town centre. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the hosts pleasant and helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place for a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We spent sometime talking about Turkey and swapping stories like old friends. Thank you for your lovely words. We both wish well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
42
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bobcaygeon, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent just over two weeks with our hosts Mark and Cathy at the Cabana. It was a very difficult time for us, arranging my mother's funeral and attending to all the associated legal and financial matters. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating. They went far beyond the usual provision of a breakfast(excellent!) and a room(quiet and clean) in an attempt to ease our emotional and physical issues. It's a cliche but true that "we arrived as guests but left as friends".

We would recommend the Cabana guest house very highly to all wishing to spend a weekend or longer in Clacton. It proved to be a real home away from home !

Noreen and Brian

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
What a fabulous couple, meeting people like you guys is one of the best perks this business offers. We wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed two nights at this B&B. Nice, clean and comfortable room. Private bathroom across the landing, but this caused me no problems. Good breakfast in the morning that Mark, the proprietor, was happy to provide early for me. The food was freshly cooked and tasted very good. This venue was also very reasonably priced and nice and warm. I am happy to recommend and I would certainly rebook if I work in Clacton again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Lovely people pleasure to meet you and hope to you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for a night in order to attend a family function. We were made to feel very welcome, it was like visiting old friends! The room and facilities were just what you need for a comfortable stay and the breakfast was very enjoyable. It is ideally located to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you guys comments like these make it all our hard work worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Whilst visiting family in Clacton, we stayed at the Cabana for 4 nights. Couldn't find any fault with this lovely guest house .Rooms are spotless . Hot showers.Clean towels every day. The breakfasts are really good . The owners are very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to visiting again very soon, infact, have booked 5 nights in December.

Room Tip: We stayed in room7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, glad all was well with your stay. Look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotley Gate, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good friendly B&B with excellent breakfast and hosts. Only down side which has no reflection on the Cabana or its owners but I feel I must mention it as a warning for other car drivers. Do not park near the Bowling Green car park exit as we have now got a nice £350 bill for the repairs to our car where someone had swung out of the car park, hit our car and then driven off!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Janet I have no words to express my horror at what happened. I wish you had said something as I can assure I would have called the police. I have been in touch with them direct but unless you lodge a complaint yourself, I as a third party can do nothing. Please contact me if you wish to take matters further. In 10 years we have never had this happen and it is particularly galling when you consider the calibre of people that are members there. I will make contact with the bowling club myself to express my disgust. Please contact me when you next pop into Clacton, you can have a free night on us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I would recommend "Cabana" for those people, who are looking for a short and cheap stay in Clacton-on-Sea with a good location. It's a very small guest house, the owners are very friendly, who give the feeling more like a home from home than a guest house :) We have spend there one night at the beginning of August, the room was very clean and bright, the only one minus was that it was really cold at night, because the wind was very strong that night and it was blowing straight into our room, we have double checked if we haven't left the window open.
Every room there has a private bathroom, but bathrooms are not in the room, you have to cross the corridor. Personally, it was the only one thing that I didn't like, but otherwise it's not the end of the world just for 1-2 night stay and knowing that you pay just 50 GBP for a night.
Lovely place, only few minutes away from the beach, friendly and nice owners, what could be better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestewarts49, Owner at Cabana Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Sorry about the "breeze" we don't feel it down here and hope it didn't spoil your stay too much. We have had unusual weather here lately. Very hot during the day and sometimes a cold wind off the sea at night. Thanks for the comments and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabana Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Guest House

Address: 8 Collingwood Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1UL, England (Formerly Cabana Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#1 Best Value Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#2 Family Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabana Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catherine and Mark run a small family guest house, very close to superb beaches, the town centre and pier. We provide a first class service in a friendly manner with spotlessly clean accommodation. All rooms are en-suite/private bathroom, tea/coffee and LED flat screen TVS with FREEVIEW. WI-FI is available free of charge. Our first class breakfast is included within the price and we provide discounts for longer stays. There is plenty to do within the surrounding area, 2 theatres, beautiful gardens and walks. Amusements galore on the pier, which is being renovated to include a bowling alley, new rides for the adventurous and plenty to eat and drink. Why not come and join us our motto is "Come as a guest, leave as a friend." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cabana Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Guest House Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.