We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time at the LTH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lemon Tree Hotel

The Lemon Tree Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clacton-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lemon Tree Hotel
Save
You added The Lemon Tree Hotel to your Saves list
2-4 Orwell Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Dagenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great time at the LTH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Recently stayed at the lemon tree hotel while seeing my kids over wknd,i must say that the staff are very much down to earth and are very helpful,i had a good time mixing with people who stay there reguarly and feel so much at home,while chatting and making new friends.The room i stayed in was very clean with plenty of fresh clean towels and clean en-suite,tv and kettle and fridge and microwave in room is all u needed to make the experience even better.I will always use the LTH when im going to clacton to visit my kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
6
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great price! Booked a room at lemon tree hotel, for my 20th birthday for myself and 2 friends.
The room that i was given had 2x single bed and 1x double bed. so all had a bed each :) bed were very clean and very comfortable.
the room was clean, light, warm and large. Room included towels, microwave, fridge, tv and kettle.
Bath room was clean and had a good shower.
Bar at the hotel was cheap and staff always smiling.
Management/Staff are very welcoming and friendly and staff also recommend good places to go in Clacton.
Great location a few minute walk to pier, children's fair, pubs, cafes, restaurants, shops. Close to everything.
Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here twice now and would def stay again. Friendly . Well decorated rooms. Rooms have fridge and microwave and tea making facilities . Car park at the back. Nice price and good value for money. Don't know why others are down rating it as I've never had any complaints . See you all soon when I'm back at the lemon tree again. Elaine from Romford Essex .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

stayed at the lemontree orwell road clacton for the weekend ,will def recommend it clean and tidy, nice shower, fridge ,tea making facilities,friendly staff ,stayed here before and would def be staying again .

Room Tip: well ive stayed in 3 different rooms and they have all been clean and tidy and reasonable priced.if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have just spent 4 days in this hotel. Well you can´t really call it a hotel as in all the hotels I have stayed in we have had our room cleaned and our bed made daily but not this one. We had to make our own beds and the room was dirty. We found long black hair on the floor and used dental floss in the bathroom. The floor had definitely not been cleaned for a long time. The bathroom had mould on the tiles and there was a horrid damp and musty smell in the room. One of the bath towels was blood stained. They didn´t do breakfast which I was glad about as I don´t think I could have eaten there. They asked us to pay on arrival which is understandable as if they hadn´t we probably would not have stayed there for the 4 days. The hotel did have a small car park but the main entrance to it was constantly blocked by a car. When I asked if the car belonged to the owner I was told the owner was a friend of the family and we should use the entrance round the back. The first night at the hotel we were very tired after our journey but could not sleep until after midnight when the music stopped. They appeared to have a birthday party in one room and karaoke in another, both very loud. On the last night in the hotel we were woken in the early hours (4am) by doors banging and loud voices. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very dark as the only window had a tree growing in front of it. The only plus points I an say about this hotel was the bed was clean and comfortable and the room had a TV. It was also cheap, but was cheap and nasty. Would rather have paid a bit more and had a nice room and my bed made and the room cleaned. My brother-in-law also stayed there for 1 night and could not hang his clothes in the wardrobe as it was dirty and would not use his shower as that was also dirty. Definitely would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I decided to go to Clacton at the last minute over the bank holiday weekend and so we always knew we might struggle to find a hotel or B&B. We managed to find that The Lemon Tree Hotel had one room left, and it was only £45 for the night (bed only, they don't do breakfast)

Whilst the staff were friendly and the bar downstairs reasonably priced the room was a bit on the grim side. The bed and bedding were very clean, so no complaints there. There were large patches of mould on the walls though and also the bathroom wasn't as clean as it might have been.

For the price it was OK, and the staff were nice, but overall hygene in the room wasn't the greatest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend, handy car park, very friendly staff, clean and good sized rooms with free wifi and a TV combo.
Would definitely go back.
Great value for money.
Good sized bar also nice and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lemon Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lemon Tree Hotel

Address: 2-4 Orwell Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Lemon Tree Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lemon Tree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.