We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langtry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Langtry Hotel to your Saves list
The Langtry Hotel
2 - 4 Colne Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1PX, England (Formerly Lyndale Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Clacton-on-Sea
South Molton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great value for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were attending a funeral in nearby Frinton on Sea and needed to break a long 340 mile journey with an overnight stay. Checked on Trip Advisor and got a great deal at £49 for a double room B&B in this near seafront hotel. We were in room 8 on the first floor which was very clean, comfortable and warm in very cold outside conditions. The ensuite was compact but very adequate and had a good shower. The breakfast the next morning was very good with choices of cooked, cereals yoghurt and fruit. The service we received was excelent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    19
    8
    12
See reviews for
19
35
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked last minute for a Saturday night on a cold rainy bank holiday weekend (I know, it was madness) and paid £69 for a VERY pokey room on the top floor. Very dated room and the tiniest bathroom I have ever been in - I am a biggish chap I know but struggled to get past the sink with the door closed! All very British seaside B&B styling but to be honest we weren't too bothered as only there for 1 night - just didn't feel that £69 was a justified cost but there wasn't much choice so supply and demand kicked in...

On the plus side you can see the staff worked hard and kept the place clean.

Fine for an overnight stay but book earlier and find somewhere better for a longer stay is my advise...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Paid a very reasonable £59 for 1 night B & B 23rd Jan 2013. Chose this hotel as its 1 min from Sea Front.
Typical British seaside hotel, basic, very clean, excellent location and really friendly staff.
Rooms are small but has everything you need, small shower but powerful,,, comfy beds, room was nice and warm.
Had breakfast which was good, they dont do evening meals. There is an Italian restaurant attached to hotel which excel in Seafood and was prob one of the best meals I have ever had.
If you want something simpler, there is a Wetherspoons around the corner and plenty of fast food places
Its not the Ritz, you dont pay it so dont expect it,,, but for where it is was excellent value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was a last minute booking and we were pleasantly suprised, the hotel could do with a bit of an update but it was clean and warm.
The lady on reception was cheerful and welcoming and breakfast was very good, All in all I found our stay at The Langtry value for money and I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Filthy carpets everywhere, a room that smelt, when shown a. Alternative it was like the
1960's
I left.
I would only recommend this to people who do not care about their accommodation.
Not good for families.
I believe e restaurant is good.
The cleanliness issues did not inspire. me to think that the kitchens would be clean if that is how they present the public areas and the bedrooms

Room Tip: GL somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found the Langtry due to the demise of the Comfort Hotel on the marine parade seafront.The Langtry is like a lot of the U.K hotels,getting older, and whatever you do, you cannot make a silk purse out of a pigs ear.Having said that the hotel was good for a one nighter,the breakfast was good and unlike a lot of places, HOT!!!!
Staff helpful and very pleasant.Location good for town centre and seafront,the downside is that it's next door to a night club,we had to close our window (Room 22),as the noise goes on into the early hours.Car parking space limited,maybe an issue when the hotel gets busy,although you could park a few streets away.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Situation very close to Sea Front, In fact you meet Sea Line as you come out of Hotel door &look right. Breakfast Great,Fresh & Generally all you would want .
We stayed here rather than a budget hotel (where most family members stayed) for.a weekend of Family Celebrations. We had stayed before when we had a flight from Stansted cancelled & had to make a snap decision . On the previous occasion it was midweek & on arriving this time we realised our first mistake, slap bang next to a Nightclub/bar & it was Friday night! Hence a lack of zzz's . To be fair the staff would of changed our room on Saturday but we had a whole host of stuff in our room by this time & knew that on Saturday night our night would be ending around the same time as the revellers ,Also as we were attending a Family Event a few drinks helped along the way.
Rooms basic but clean, could do with a little more in the comfort stakes, lack of biscuits, maybe bottled water & definitely somewhere to put suitcase as Wardrobe though very nice also very small & cannot unpack case to store items as not enough room & no where to sit case while in room apart from floor, not really ideal.
Bathroom is Tiny, Not enough room to swing the proverbial Cat! You have no room to turn around & if claustrophobic then you would have serious problems.
All that taken in consideration is ideal if you have a week in Clacton as prices with very nice breakfast good & places like Travel lodge do not do Breakfast .Though Breakfast is extremely early 7-9am! Which is not ideal if you have had a late night ,hence we missed it on our 2nd morning !

Parking is also available on site or opposite at no extra cost another consideration.
t

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langtry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langtry Hotel

Address: 2 - 4 Colne Road, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 1PX, England (Formerly Lyndale Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Clacton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to shops, beach and all local entertainments, theatres, etc. On site parking is limited so we can only reserve under special circumstances,however ample space is available at public car park directly opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Langtry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langtry Hotel Clacton-On-Sea, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langtry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.