We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Premier Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Chelmsford - Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Chelmsford - Springfield to your Saves list
Premier Inn Chelmsford - Springfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chelmsford Service Area - Colchester Road | Springfield, Chelmsford CM2 5PY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Premier Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stay at this Premier Inn quite regularly due to having family in the area. We always ask for a room on the car park side, due to the busy A12 and railway line on one side of the hotel. The staff are very friendly, and when we last stayed (New Year's day), Peter on reception was happy to open the bar in the restaurant to serve us drinks, although the restaurant wasn't open for food etc. Overall, a great Premier Inn and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    115
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
113
84
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here as we attended a wedding at the Channels Golf club. Although not in Chelmsford it self it is a short bus or car ride away. This hotel was booked in advance and was very good value for money. Having now stayed here i would say it was even better value and would recommend it to anyone if in the Chelmsford area. The room was large and spacious and not too hot like some hotel rooms can get. The room and ensuite were both meticulously clean. The bed was comfortable and easily big enough for 2 people and we had more than enough pillows. Although we had minimum contact with staff those we did encounter were polite and friendly. We will definatly stay here again should the need ever arise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Booked in for Saturday and Sunday nights,arrived to find that room wasn't ready as they were understaffed,but the manager on duty did his best to speed things up and we got checked in.
Watched the Rugby on the bar TV Saturday afternoon followed by an excellent Mixed Grill in the restaurant.Faulty fire alarm got the whole hotel out 10 ish Sunday morning,but was handled well by all the staff !Standard Premier Inn room,clean and functional,ground floor house keeping team were excellent !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and the food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. Hot tasty and very good value for money. Other than that it was the usual Premier Inn, clean, modern and easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have stayed in many premier inns but I can honestly say that this is the nicest, friendliest Premier Inn that we have stayed in. The staff were absolutely lovely and so very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they definately went out of their way to accommodate all our needs. The breakfast was cooked to order and even though it took longer than normal to arrive due to the fire alarm going off everything was explained to us and nobody minded the slight delay. All in all it was a lovely stay in very difficult circumstance for us at the time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have stayed in quite a number of Premier Inn's, but this is now my absolute favourite ! All of the staff were super friendly & nothing was too much trouble. Daniel, in the restaurant, could not have been more helpful & I had a good chuckle with Bob (the night receptionist) early this morning as I was in and out loading up the car. The internal Thyme Restaurant had a great choice of food. At the moment, they have a promotion for the 'Meal Deal' @ £25 per adult for a full breakfast (kids eat free), a 3 course dinner (absolutely any choice of a starter, main & dessert !!) & a drink. The food was lovely both in the morning & evening (& I admit I'm a bit fussy) ~ the poached eggs in the morning were some of the best I've ever had. As I'd read the reviews on here, I phoned in advance & asked for a 'quiet room' which is what we had. The rooms were comfortable, very clean & any traffic noise outside did not disturb us at all ~ we honestly couldn't hear it. The television in the room will only reach a certain volume ~ which I think is a good idea so as not to disturb other guests. We also had a standalone heater to take the chill off the room. As others have said, there is a BP garage directly in front of the hotel with M&S food, a McDonalds next door & a Sainsbury's. As it was half term, we had booked this Premier Inn to visit Adventure Island Theme Park in Southend (fab !) for one day and also Lakeside Thurruck to re-stock my daughter's wardrobe ;-) for another. There were several Premier Inn's in Essex to choose from that may have been closer to these venues, but I was really very pleased that we chose & stayed in this one. Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so comfortable & for the best stay we've had in any Premier Inn. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very nice restaurant and hotel. We stayed up quite late but the staff remained very friendly. The room was very spacious and comfortable. My only complaint was trhe TV and heating did not work in my room and I was quite cold in the night

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Chelmsford - Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chelmsford - Springfield

Address: Chelmsford Service Area - Colchester Road | Springfield, Chelmsford CM2 5PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chelmsford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#5 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chelmsford - Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chelmsford - Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Chelmsford
Premier Inn Chelmsford - Springfield Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Chelmsford - Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.