We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year's Eve package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The County Hotel to your Saves list
The County Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainsford Road, Chelmsford CM1 2PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and our friends stayed for New Year's Eve as a package deal and gas a great time.
The package was really good value and well worth the money. The food was great as was the drinks and service.
The only thing that wasn't too great was the DJ. He played the same song 4 times in 20 minutes and didn't count in the new year.
The night was well planned and ran smoothly and the staff were very friendly and efficient.
I would definitely recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    79
    40
    17
    16
See reviews for
31
56
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel somehow has a jaded air to it. The room was OK, the service was OK, the breakfast was OK, but the impression given is that it has been around for a long while. Could do with a little re-invention.

Room Tip: I would request not having the 'disabled' room at the top of the stairs, it can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

In my opinion this hotel does what it says on the tin. This is a 3 star hotel. I stayed a few nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, as was the service. I did not use the restaurant but I did have bar meals which were available at reasonable cost and they were of good quality. As I was there a few nights I think I would have benefitted from a room upgrade as the room I had, although adequate, was a little on the small side and I had to move the tea tray etc just to make room for lap top - so I suggest that if you intend to work in the room then arrange a bigger room. The room was however clean and equipped well - the FREE WI-FI was great (why don`t all hotels do this as standard?). The only negative I would say about the room was the lack of sound-proofing. Sadly the sound of anyone walking about in the room above me amplified tremendously, as did people walking and talking in the corridors. This was really bad and did affect sleep quality considerably which is a shame as this did impact on the overall hotel experience. I would however visit again but I would try very hard to get the top floor to reduce the noise.

Room Tip: Top floor - reduces sounds of people walking about
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWHAVEN, EAST SUSSEX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very quick check-in. Lovely "premium" room on the corner with massive bed and large bathroom.

Breakfast the next morning was gorgeous.

It was very quiet considering it was 2 days before Xmas!

Only nag, please change the shower (I think it was room 37?), lovely large shower, absolutely no power in the showerhead/water and the different spray settings didn't work well either.

Other than that, will use again when visiting friends and family.

Room Tip: I think it was 37 but it's on the first floor & the one right on the corner overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Check in good.
Room small and dated(isn)
Bed comfortable & clean. Shower nice and hot.
The rooms and sound proffing though leave a lot to be desired.
So why only average ? I went room only and for £75.00 it is not worth it, the place needs some money spending on it, because they are pretty much the only hotel in Chelmsford itself they have captive audience, Travel Inn are a better standard and cheaper except the rip off tlocation that is London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just spent New Year's Eve at the County Hotel (for the 3rd time so I should have reviewed it before!).

The hotel rooms are comfortable and well equipped and range from standard, which we had this time, to superior and suites.

There is a good bar which has a couple of real ales on draught and a good range of wines etc.

Where the hotel really stands out is the food - exceptional quality and great value! You would not normally expect too much from a mass catered New Year's Eve menu but the smoked duck breast and fillet steak that I had surpassed anything I had expected - great!

Well worth calling in for a meal or staying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were welcomed to the hotel by a friendly and professional receptionist. Our room, number 17, was a 'standard' room, and we were pleasantly surprised by its size. It was very clean, and the bed was really comfortable. Great selection of teas and coffees in the room, plenty of good quality towels in the bathroom. It was rather a cold weekend and we were more than grateful for the facility to control the temperature within the room. All areas of the hotel were clean and the standard of decor was very good. There was a Christmas function at the Hotel that evening and we were not disturbed by any noise. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: Rainsford Road, Chelmsford CM1 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Chelmsford
The County Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The County Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.