We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Rest Your Head” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Writtle Road | Margaretting, Chelmsford CM4 0EH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Chelmsford
Slough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Rest Your Head”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lovely decor in the hotel and bedrooms and nice to have a fresh cooked to order breakfast in the morning. Good for the Essex road network, I was there for business and the free wifi was a bonus.

Beds comfy, only down side was noise of other guests banging doors late at night going to bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill.
It is always nice to know that guests have enjoyed their time with us.
You will be pleased to know that last week we completed the refurbishment of the lounge area within the hotel and also upgraded the wifi to ensure better signal strength throughout the building.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    69
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
46
49
7
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had a lovey night at the Ivy Hotel 100% but the restaurant for a function leaves a lot to be desired also if you Drink has a mixer they add the whole bottle which is not acceptable you should add what you want to the taste this was very disapointing. But the Hotel definately beautiful and I felt I was in the lap of luxury thank you to the Staff and Management

Room Tip: The hotel has been refurbished and every room is 100% or it was when we were there as there was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Best Western Ivy Hill.

I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay but was disappointed to see you were not happy with the function you attended.
I have looked into this further and found the details of your stay with us, including the guest experience questionnaire you completed on check out which was incredibly positive and made no mention of any problems with the function.

However we do take all comments seriously and thank you for bringing the issue of the drinks to my attention.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on a couple of occasions, business trips....the hotel is very clean, with very nicely decorated large rooms and fittings. The staff are freindly and very formal, the hotel being more focused towards business customers. The location is discreet and easy to find (just off J M25). The hotel offers evening meal which to be honest was better then the Italian restaurant which is located next door, breakfast was very nice, with menu choice. Unfortunately the hotel has no fitness room, i was told i could use the facilities at a sister hotel, being 7miles away i thought this was too far....one final note is that the beds are the most comfy i have encountered whilst away,,,,no problems with sleeping!

Room Tip: executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Best Western Iv y Hill.

It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback and I'm glad you found the beds to be comfortable.
We are just finishing a project to refurbish the lounge area so next time you are in the area you will have to visit again to ensure a good nights sleep and see the changes we have made!

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As ever I was travelling on business and found the hotel fairly easily as it was sign posted just after the main road junction. I was checked in quickly by a lovely young man who upgraded me (due to my rewards card) and I went up to my room which was well laid out and clean.

I chose to eat from the bar menu and unfortunately went for sausages and mash from the specials menu. I say unfortunately as it really wasn't to the standards you'd expect for £12.50. I mentioned this to the receptionist and also my objection to the 10% gratuity being automatically added and both items were resolved satisfactorily.

I had a good nights sleep and a good breakfast although listening to a conference or similar going on in the room behind was a tad strange.

In summary a good clean welcoming hotel but maybe some attention to detail with the food is called for. If I'm in the area again I'll return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill.

The title of your review concerned me, but having read the whole thing I can see that although you did not enjoy your meal you have made positive comments about many other aspects of the stay.

We have a number of dining options available at the hotel, as well as the bar menu there is also Bartellas Restaurant just across the garden which I would invite you to try should you stay with us again.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked for 3 nights as it was my daughters wedding and my parents 50th Wedding anniversary the following day. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel was very clean and the food was excellent. We had an executive room, the bed was large and comfortable and the room had space to relax. The radiator was thermostatically controlled so we could turn it down if we were too hot - also the fan in the bathroom turns off when you turn the light off so no annoying noise in the night. The hotel has a very comfortable residents lounge and a very relaxed atmosphere throughout. If ever we need a hotel in the area again we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, congratulations to your daughter and your parents!
I am pleased you enjoyed your time and were well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area, by which time the lounge you mentioned will have a new look as we started to refurbish it on Monday.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterield, Derbyshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a lovely hotel which has good quality bedrooms. The staff were very friendly on arrival. The food in the hotel was average and a bit over priced for what you got, I am referring to the evening meal. The room was very clean and modern. The bed was comfy and the shower was nice and hot. Overall a good quality hotel with close access to the A12.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to know that guests have enjoyed their time with us and I have passed your comments on to the team.
Without knowing which items you ate or from which menu it is hard for me to respond to your comment about the price of the food but I will make sure it is noted for when these things are reviewed.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here through work for one night, wish it could have been longer!
On entering reception, and throughout the common areas, everything was welcoming, beautifully presented, and cared for, with a friendly atmosphere.
Lovely room, very clean and tastefully decorated, with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in! Room also had the added bonus of fully opening windows, a small thing but an issue I wish other hotels would consider, I don't wasn't to be imprisoned in a hot stuffy room, with no fresh air, but this was lovely! Bathroom was modern and clean, with a proper bath, and shower over.
Ate in bar in the evening, and although food was ok, I wasn't as impressed as I thought I would be, given the rest of the hotel. This could have just been a wrong choice from the menu, and my
colleague was certainly happy with her meal, but mine didn't quite match the description given!
Breakfast though was good, with a good selection, and prompt and friendly service.
Would love to stay here again, even have a smokers paradise, for those lepers like me who hate hanging around outside, feeling conspicuous , a graceful covered gazebo within the lovely grounds, with a heater! Top marks!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill.
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and that the little things we do to make guests feel as comfortable as possible were much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area, be it for business or pleasure.

Jason Bartella
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

Address: Writtle Road | Margaretting, Chelmsford CM4 0EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#3 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel Chelmsford, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.