We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great makeover and awesome food :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 59 New Street Wine Bar And Restaurant

59 New Street Wine Bar And Restaurant
59 New Street, Chelmsford, England
441245256614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 276 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
essex
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great makeover and awesome food :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We used to frequent the old Hothouse and this is our first visit to the location since the makeover. The place has been spruced up, opened up and painted white.
The food was absolutely spot on: my scallops with ham hock were perfectly cooked, melt in the mouth. My husband's pulled lamb was tender and delicious. For mains I had the best trout I have ever tasted, with quinoa. Husband had pumpkin risotto which he confessed was "almost as good as mine"!! I had a espresso dessert martini & he had beautiful pannacotta. Add in an acoustic set by the very talented Kieran eldridge which set a relaxed atmosphere and it was a night to remember. Not the cheapest place but the food and atmosphere made up for it. The waiting staff were very friendly and helpful. Even the loos were good! Thank you 59 New Street!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    13
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superior dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A very stylish interior, with amazing food, the best i have had in Chelmsford, and beautifully presented, The staff are extremely friendly, nothing too much trouble, cocktails amazing too! Definitely visiting again soon

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matching Tye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go and see for yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A warm welcome from friendly, attentive staff who have genuine opinions regarding the food and wine on offer, these guys really take care to ensure everything is perfect. The beautiful menu certainly lived up to high expectations after reading all the reviews, and the price was reasonable to boot! I loved the old 'hot house' and it's almost unrecognisable but what a transformation! Keep up the good work, we'll definitely be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hits All The Right Notes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We headed to 59 New Street on a Wednesday evening and were treated to some excellent food and very pleasant service. Having been to the Hot House a few times, the change in appearance and appeal is nothing short of miraculous. The starters were perfect and a good size (big enough to enjoy and small enough to leave room for everything else). My partner had the steak for her main and it looked and tasted (I had a bite) amazing! My turbot and beef cheek was delicious also. The only slight criticism was that our food could have been ever so slightly hotter.

All in all a very enjoyable meal and we will definitely returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Went here for lunch with two friends, not knowing what to expect. We were more than satisfied.This is the best restaurant in Chelmsford. Mind, it doesn't have a lot of competition! The food, the service, the ambiance were all spot on. I really hope that they can keep up the very high quality as Chelmsford really does need some decent restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 59 New Street Wine Bar And Restaurant also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to 59 New Street Wine Bar And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 59 New Street Wine Bar And Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.