We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but much better communication required” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden Tea Rooms Writtle Road Nursery

The Secret Garden Tea Rooms Writtle Road Nursery
7 Writtle Road, Chelmsford CM1 3BL, England
01245 265655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 252 restaurants in Chelmsford
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food but much better communication required”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have been to The Secret Garden several times and the food is generally always good and it has nice decor/ambience. On this occasion, my husband needed to order 3 times before they had the food he wanted and they also did not have his first drink order either.

I think this could be resolved by having a blackboard outside to say the items that are no longer available. This lets everyone know before they order or they can leave if they really want something particular e.g. roast. Very simple step and avoids the need to apologise. This is not the first time we have experienced this so I think if they have a problem predicting orders, which does happen, then this is the best way to tackle it.

The manager apologised but it was more of a 'sorry but' and the reason for the issue e.g. we came too late in the day, the freezer is broken, worried about the quality of the potatoes.

It is a lovely little place but I agree with the other reviews that they do need to work on their customer service and their order procedure. If they sort this out then it is a great place to go and will make the loyalty card worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    29
    10
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I can't fault it
perfect homemade food
very decent prices
customer service excellent
I prefer this place in winter because of the fireplace
today I had soup and it was excellent
I'll be back soon

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not a secret any more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

These small rooms have a cosy atmosphere maybe not ideal for sharing secrets but outside if the weather is good there's plenty of space and if there's not a wake in progress from the neighbouring crematorium you can sit in the larger extension. I held my 70th birthday celebrations there and it was superb thanks to the wonderful staff. It really is not a secret any more but the success is well deserved and the garden shop is full to bursting with temptations.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I treated my Mum to afternoon tea purchased through Groupon, Tea rooms are on the side of a nursery with a nice shady garden, you can sit out at tables or in the tea room would suggest pre-booking as it was busy but the service was excellent polite friendly staff happy to help, the tea consisted of 4 small sandwiches each, prawn, tuna, chicken and salad garni, salmon pinwheels, quiche, sausage rolls, cake, fruit scone with jam and cream and a cup of tea or coffee; any extra drinks are chargeable, Price paid through the promotion made this very good value, full price I think was £16 which I think is a tad expensive; Good sized car park and a lovely selection of food available on the menu; we really enjoyed it;

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The place for afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Have been a few times for breakfast which is excellent! Never had afternoon tea!

Omg what a pleasure, there is so much food and all wonderfully made. We were told could we wait 10 mins as fresh scones were coming out oven.

I have got to say I have had some great afternoon teas but this was one of the best!

We got sandwiches, sausage rolls ( fabulous) and smoked salmon wrap. Followed by wonderful cake and scones! Cream and jam

The value for money is amazing I would and have recommended everyone to go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Secret Garden Tea Rooms Writtle Road Nursery also viewed

 

Been to The Secret Garden Tea Rooms Writtle Road Nursery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden Tea Rooms Writtle Road Nursery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.