We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick,tasty and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Plough
28 Duke Street, Chelmsford CM1 1HY, England
01245 250145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 274 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quick,tasty and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Four of us hopped off the train for a meal together before two got back on the train! So handy, right next to the station, polite attentive staff and some delicious home cooked food. Good selection and reasonable prices, £22 a head for 3 courses and a bottle of wine!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very, very good food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I ate lunch with two girlfriends at The Plough on 1st Sept. It's a nice friendly pub with a lot of character. We had table service, which was great as it's quite unusual for a pub to do this. I am a vegetarian and there were adequate options. I ordered the vegetarian tart with an extra portion of chips. Both me and my friends were very, very impressed with the quality of food and service - I would definitely recommend this place for lunch or a low-key dinner. The pastry was to die for and skin on chips were amazing! If you're ever in Chelmsford give it a go!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Handy pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Popped in for a couple of drinks with a few mates early one weekday evening. Staff friendly, beer good, surroundings very nice. Ideally suited for rail and bus stations and town centre. There is a restaurant area which was empty but looked clean and tidy. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fills a hole.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have been to this public house on numerous occasions over the years and have never found it to be an unpleasant experience. Food is average and what you would expect from a typical town/city centre pub. Service can be slow if ordering food but I can't really complain too much about this as the bar staff have to do both jobs-serving food and working the bar.

This place really comes into it's own on Saturday afternoons and can become very busy as it seems to become a haven for men escaping from the missus and the dreaded 'shopping'. Can have a great atmosphere when showing a top sport events.

It's a good little pub and the beer ain't half bad either!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Busy city centre pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Plough is a classic city centre pub. Located next to the railway station, this is a pub that clearly caters for the commuters popping in for a swift pint on the way home from work.

Food clearly takes 2nd place over the beer. This became evident from the start as it took an age to get served and the food was just OK, not great but not bad. We arrived at around 8 o’clock in the evening and the place was in desperate need of a good cleaner, most tables were full of empty glasses and plates. It looked like it had been a busy couple of hours.

It is difficult to complain too much, as the food is no too expensive; it was mainly the service that was the problem.

Great for a pint, not so great for food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.