We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Original Menu - Best Nepalese Restaurant in East Anglia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everest Gurkha Bar & Restaurant

Everest Gurkha Bar & Restaurant
8 - 10 Broomfield Road, Chelmsford CM1 1SN, England
+44 7914 811756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 276 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Nepali, Continental, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Original Menu - Best Nepalese Restaurant in East Anglia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is an excellent example of the very best of Nepalese Cuisine. I think it is the best Nepalese Restaurant in East Anglia and well worth the drive down to Chelmsford from Colchester where we live. The owner Harka is a true restaurateur. He has a very well trained team, both front and back of house. The dishes are all very authentic and remind me of the best meals I had in Kathmandu and Pokhara. Pam had the slow cooked Lamb and loved the rich flavours that deeply permeated the tender lamb shank. I had the Everest Special which was a delicious selection of marinated meat and seafood cooked in a clay oven. There is such an extensive choice that we will be coming back again soon to sample more of the dishes. The service is friendly and cheerful, and yet very professional. We felt very well looked after. Make sure you book in advance for Fridays and Saturdays. There is good parking in the Railway St. Pay & Display - only £1 for the whole evening..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    61
    17
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

mate booked online never got the phone call to confirm we put it down to being busy (why sign up for on line booking and not actually follow bookings through) so funnily enough no table .
Went to the ship for a drink went back no one said a thing to us
we stood there like lemons for 20 mins (minter)

food was average and getting poppadoms was like asking for the crown jewels

my friend wanted something like a tikka massala got something close to a vindaloo

wont go back stick to what i know tm2 in baddow road or zara in woodham mortimer which the owner of this place should visit to understand about customer service and decent food

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX ENGLAND
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A GREAT DISCOVERY!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

In August 2013, four of us went to EVEREST GURKHA restaurant for a birthday celebration. Although it was a Friday evening and a booking had been made, the restaurant was comfottable but not full. The staff were friendly and the decor very plesant. [clean toilets] . We had not eaten Nepalese food before, but the food we had was suburb and good value. WE WILL BE BACK..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

From the moment of arriving the staff were sooooo accommodating and could not do enough for us. The food was wonderful and ambiance too. The waiter explained the menu in detail as it was our first time at the restaurant. We will definitely be going back to this restaurant and can really recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have been here a few times and am yet to be disappointed. The food is always, without exception, amazing.

Most recently, I had the xacuti which was buzzing with flavour - not the generic sauce you seem to get in many a Indian restaurant - but rich and thick with herbs and spices.

The service was second to none - attentive, friendly and efficient.

If you are looking for a quality Indian restaurant in Chelmsford this is the place to come.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everest Gurkha Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Everest Gurkha Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everest Gurkha Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.