We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lion inn chelmsford” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Inn

The Lion Inn
Main Road, Boreham, Chelmsford CM3 3JA, England
01245 394900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 259 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Whether you are with us for lunch or dinner, we provide a friendly, vibrant atmosphere amongst very eclectic surroundings.
rochford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lion inn chelmsford”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

firstly you cannot book a table then when we were seated we were not told anything we sat there for 20 minutes waiting to be served as we thought ,but understood to a degree as the place was heaving then the table to the side of us were friendly,we said how long do you have to wait to be served that is when they told us you have to order your own with the pad and pencil supplied to our shock,so we ordered our food giving our table number to which when our order came the staff serving did not know the number of the tables as our order went to the table next to us and we had to tell them it was ours,so a second negative to this very nice restaurant ,as for the food it was slightly better than average the chips in duck fat were delicious.overall for such a very nice venue which was absolutely buzzing would not go back.even at the local wimpey they come and take your order at your table.The lion fantastic looking but as for service and food very mediocre to poor

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    186
    51
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellent products!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

we visited for lunch, the car park was pretty full, but we walked in and were seated straight away. It was fairly busy inside but all running smoothly. The menu isn't huge and on the face of it, is nothing out of the ordinary for this kind of place. We ordered one fish platter and one meat platter. Our order came up quickly and was absolutely delicious. Top quality! The little pot of pate and the terrine were particularly good. The ham and beef were great too and the bread was fresh and crusty. My friend had the fish platter which was excellent too. The quality of the products really stood out and was good value, I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“" How strange"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

After being seated at the table we were given a pad to write our own choices of food. I then had to go to the bar and read the choices to the bar staff who dutifully put them on the system. I then returned to my seat, we did not have to pay until after we had finished the meal. I could not see how this benefited the customer or in fact the restaurant. Am I missing something?
The menu had good choices and was supported by a specials board. The food was tasty and well presented but for a starter shared, a main meal, a soft drink and coffee for over £20 seemed just a little on the high side.
The restaurant is obviously enjoyed as it was very busy on a Monday night.
The staff were attentive and very smart.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As good as the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went along (2 couples) on a Saturday Night. Called to book but was told no bookings just come along about 6.30 and have a drink or two and within an hour you'll have a table. We arrived at 6.30 and were led straight to our table, no queue, no wait, no fuss. The staff were extremely helpful and very attentive. You have to write your menu choices on a notepad and take them up to the bar. No problem but as we hadn't intended to eat so early we all had a drink at out table before going up to the bar to order the food around 7.15pm. No queue at the bar and within 5 minutes our starters were with us. Not a huge choice on the menu but sometimes that's a good thing. Two sirloin steaks were cooked just as we wanted, the steak pie was delicious and so was the Blue Strawberry Salad. NIce choice of desserts and the creme brulee was superb. If you want a quiet cosy meal then The Lion Inn is not the place to go on a Saturday Night as it was full and very noisy but in a good way. Would definitely go again but maybe try a weekday night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just ate here and food was amazing great choice even for kids, only problem was where they sat us right round the back out of the way so we had to wait for someone to return to another table or get up and find someone to reorder drinks every time, also when drinks were ordered they took ages to arrive.

But again food is great if you don't mind waiting for your drinks.
Bar really nice and very welcoming staff on entering building.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion Inn also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.