We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Wings Zoo

Tropical Wings Zoo
Wickford Road | South Woodham Ferrers, Chelmsford CM3 5QZ, England
01245 425394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A brilliant day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I visited at the start of October and we had a lovely day out. The butterfly house is amazing! I have never seen such beautiful butterflies. The other animals were also great, we really enjoyed the wallabies and the meerkats. We sat through the owl experience which was great.
The only downside was the lack of places to eat, the restaurant closed early and was right at the start of the zoo. The shack where you could get snacks was very poor, although it had a better position in the middle of the zoo.
I would definitely recommend going, great for both adults and children. A really lovely day out, I would recommend taking a packed lunch though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    138
    31
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Visited more than once and always good fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been here on numerous occasions, with and without children and have always had a great time, it is pretty good value for money, and have a great varity of animals. This is not a zoo and doesn't take the whole day to go round, but the butterfly house is lovely.

I haven't been disappointed and the staff are helpful, and the demonstrations (birds of prey and small creatures) have all been really good.

Would definately go again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant half day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely family day out (although I would recommend for couples and friend too). The butterfly house is amazing and lovely and warm! The children loved feeding the fish and trying to get picture of the butterflies.

The outside zoo is amazing and spaced out. The animals seems to have nice big cages and kept very clean. We were lucky to be about to watch the owl display which was excellent. There is a lot to see and do both inside and outside and the café is very clean with lots of tables (although it does get busy) the prices for sandwiches are good plus they do hot food like jacket potatoes too. There are picnic areas for your own food and very large playground for the kids.

The shop is very good with things for children to buy for £5 or under.

Very lovely half day out

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Happy Days at Wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have been visiting Tropical Wings since it first started and watched in grow into the great visitor experience it is today. It has something for people of all ages and is always changing. Really worth a visit and the food is good too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Trip to Tropical Wings Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Brilliant day out to Tropical Wings, grandchildren loved it and so did we.
The zoo part is great especially the meerkats.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Wings Zoo also viewed

Woodham Ferrers, Essex
 

Been to Tropical Wings Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Wings Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.