We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely meal at The Green Man” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Man - Edney

The Green Man - Edney
Highwood Rd | Edney Common, Chelmsford cm1 3qe, England
01245 248076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 258 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
chelmsford, essex u.k.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal at The Green Man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just enjoyed another lovely meal at The Green Man. We have been eating regularly there for many years and the food prepared by the current owners is always excellent. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and unfailingly polite.

Therefore we were very surprised to read the recent two negative reports about poor service. From our experience they are the exception rather than the rule.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    37
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food - do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Me and my boyfriend have eaten here a few times since we noticed it on Trip Advisor. The food is amazing quality, it has such a varied menu (English, Indian, Chinese, Thai, French cuisines and so much more) and it is so superior to anything else on sale at many of the chain restaurants in the centre of town. So worth the 10 minute drive out of town and into the gorgeous Essex countryside.

Each time we have been we have said that we'll just have a course or two, but we always end up having three because we just don't want to miss out!

The food is very well priced on it's own but we have combined it with our Tastecard when we have been during the week and to get all the food on 241 is amazing!

I am trying to convince my friend to book here for her going away dinner because me and my boyfriend are desperate for a reason to come again!

Get down here! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should be crowned the best food in Chelmsford without fail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This place is one you will go to and always go back like myself we found the green man at the start of this year and have been there 5 times in 2 months the food is better than anywhere within miles you must go and take no notice of the 2 last bad reviews the people obviously never went to the same pub with the same staff and chefs that I went to. THE BEST RESTAURANT IN CHELMSFORD BY A MILE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely food but dining area lacks atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have eaten at The Green Man twice before, the last time very recently. Both times I've been impressed with the food and really enjoyed it. The service was good both times and importantly for us there is lots of parking. If I had a criticism though it would be that the decor in the restaurant is rather soul-less and devoid of atmosphere so what should be a special meal (by the quality of the food) ends up feeling a bit like eating in a dated pub somewhere in Cornwall. Some warm wall colours, updated table accessories (maybe tablecloths/modern place mats etc.) and maybe even some quiet music in the background would make a world of difference!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Let's start with the service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The service here is very good and must be this restaurant's secret weapon. Special mention to Pat who was nothing short of first class. We were a party of two and there was a party of twelve at the same time. She took our order first so that we would not have to wait too long, she changed a table for us without a fuss and was generally keen to offer first class service. Pat understands what client care means and the other staff ( whose names I didn't ask, sorry) were also excellent.

The tables in the bar are lighter as some parts of the restaurant can be a bit dark.The food is good pub food, not fine dining but good. Overall a very good experience and a lovely way to spend a sunny Sunday lunchtime.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man - Edney also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Green Man - Edney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Man - Edney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.