We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Sandon Green | Sandon, Chelmsford, England
+44 1245 477164
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 259 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Price range: $9 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Russell and Tina would like to welcome you to The Crown. Only a short drive out of Chelmsford, The Crown has been in the village of Sandon since 1759, which is when it was first recorded as being run as a public house. It is a traditional English pub and restaurant set within a grade II listed building with many original features.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently held my fathers wake here. As you can imagine it is difficult to cater for such an event. Debbie was extremely helpful in organising the event prior to the day of the funeral. On the day, the food was excellent, as was the service with over 100 in attendance. A lovely relaxing atmosphere, we hope to see her again under happy circumstances. Thank you Debbie and team.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex,UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A party of six, we went for a birthday celebration. The service was excellent, and the food very good. Could have done with slightly larger portions of veg and potatoe, but will definitely go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A mix of good and could-be-better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

First visit to the Crown for a long time; now under new ownership. Wells Brewing connection: the range of ales has reduced. This is a fairly large pub and I wondered where all the locals had gone, it was very empty for a Saturday lunchtime. Anyway, a great welcome, food was pretty impressive: excellent cod, but how do they get those chunky chips to be so watery? And a delicious beef and mushroom pie. Service and presentation was very good, decor etc typical olde worlde, open fireplace.
So I wish the new owners well, but with a few other destination pubs not far away, the scarce customer base and limited ale choice outweighs the very good food and service, we will probably not rush back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The Bouillabaisse .......... To die for, best meal I have had in a long time, thank you The Crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had the absolute pleasure of celebrating my birthday at the crown on Saturday night. We enjoyed a drink at the bar where everyone was celebrating Australia day. Debbie and Simon were so warm and welcoming and ensured we got involved in all the festivities. For starters I had the scallops with pancetta, shiitake mushrooms and pea puree, for main I had bouillabaisse fish stew, which was to die for, followed by triple chocolate moose layer cake. Everything was seasonal, fresh, home cooked and this was apparent in the taste and flavour of every dish. The service was spot on and the fact the head chef came to ensure we enjoyed the meal and me feel super special in front of the other customers was the icing on the cake!!! Would recommend this beautiful, friendly country pub to anyone that is looking for a memorable, top notch night!!!! Thank you once again for making my 30 one to remember xxxx

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a shame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Took my partner here for dinner last night. I had the pheasant which was tough. The accompanying gravy was much too salty. My partner had the irish stew which was more like a broth, dumplings under cooked and smothered in parsley (since when did an irish stew have parsley in it?) Service was good but this didn't make up for a poor and overpriced meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.